125/250 ACU National Championship

Tuesday August 15, 2023 at 3:50pm
125/250 ACU National Championship

Castle Combe circuit looked like it could be the pivotal point of the 250 championship with second place Nick Sansome having to score some major points to keep in touch with series leader Bobby Varey with only 3 rounds to go this year.

Qualifying saw Varey put down a very firm marker of intent with a time of 1:14.551 with Sansome over 3 seconds off the pace at 1:17.678 front row completed by outgoing champion Tommy Lawlor with a 1:17.699

125s were led by Mark Tyrrell at 1:22.972 from Sian Brooks with 1:24.795 and James Chapman 1:29.829

Sean Morrison was the leading Cup machine at 1:18.261

Race 1, Varey got a good start, but the best came from Morrison and Frank Swain from the second row to overhaul Sansome and Lawlor and head them on the opening lap, Sansome made better progress and was in 2nd by lap 2 but Lawlor was booged down in 5th until lap 5. By that time Varey was all but gone leaving only the chase of Sansome who was unaware Lawlor was closing Quickley and was ambushed on the final lap for 2nd but 17 seconds behind Varey, Morrison was the first Cup bike home in 4th and the only 125 was Mark Tyrrell, Brooks and Chapman failed to finish.

Race 2, Varey got the start with Morison from the second row taking with him Chris Moore again pushing Sansome and Lawlor out and work to do. Morrison was flying and keeping Lawlors Yamaha and Sansomes Honda at bay, Moore passed by both on lap 5, Sansome edged past Lawlor on lap 8 when the red flag stopped the race 1 lap short, Varey some 12 seconds ahead of Morrison and Sansome. Mark Tyrrell was again top 125.

Race 3, very different track conditions greeted the grid with a completely wet track but that made no difference to Varey as he made a perfect start to draw clear of the ball of spray of the following pack being dragged around by Lawlor making his best start of the weekend with Moore and Morrison again in contention in the early laps as the laps counted down Morrison slipped down the order not enjoying the wet conditions but Moore was hanging on in 3rd ,Sansome was having to pedal very hard to stay in front of a gaggle of Cup machines Phill Ellis heading up a group of 4 bikes. Varey eased to his largest margin of victory of the weekend over Lawlor and Moore putting himself firmly in command of the championship with 2 rounds to go, Sansome needs to win all races and Varey not finish all of them! Mark Tyrrell was 125 victor for a clean sweep of wins. 

The series moves to Anglesey for the next round.


» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Road Race
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400
Email: admin@acu.org.uk