Celebrating 10 Years of Arenacross

Thursday November 23, 2023 at 10:46am
Celebrating 10 Years of Arenacross

More than half a million motocross and freestyle MX fans have witnessed the spectacle of Arenacross as the series celebrates 10 years of thrilling audiences.

Since debuting at the iconic O2 Arena London on 12 January 2013, over 500,000 people have experienced the series in person at venues across the UK.

Check Out These Amazing Arenacross Facts:

  • 507,000 tickets have been sold to Arenacross fans since 2013
  • 78 action-packed Arenacross nights have been staged across the UK
  • We’ve moved over half a million tons of dirt in the process (that’s 25,000 lorry loads)!
  • We’ve staged Arenacross in nine of the UK’s biggest cities: London, Belfast, Aberdeen, Glasgow, Sheffield, Manchester, Newcastle, Birmingham and Liverpool
  • £1.2m in prize money has been paid out to riders and teams since we’ve started
  • Adam Chatfield (UK - 2013) was the first ever Arenacross Champion
  • Tommy Searle (UK – 2023) was the first ever official Arenacross British Champion (ACU Sanctioned)
  • Thomas Ramette (France) has been the most successful rider winning three championships (2015,16 & 17) with Fabien Izoird (France – 2014), Cedric Soubeyras (France – 2018), Gregory Aranda (France – 2019) and Charles Le Francois (France – 2020) each taking a single championship before two Covid interrupted years followed by Tommy Searle dominating in 2023
  • Suzuki have been the most dominant manufacturer with five Championships followed by Kawasaki (three championships) and Honda way back in 2013 with a single championship owned by Adam Chatfield
  • The KTM Group (KTM, GASGAS and Husqvarna) have never won a Pro Main Event in the 78 nights of Arenacross
  • Jack Brunell, Adam Chatfield and Matt Bayliss are the only three Pro Racers to line up every year since Arenacross started in 2013 – and will be ready to race again in 2024
  • Adam Chatfield is the only rider to make every single Main Event since Arenacross started.
  • Joe Clayton and his brother Ben are the only two riders to have won Youth and Lites Championships and now contest in the Pro Class
  • Thomas Ramette is the all time Main Event winner (23 wins) with Cedric Soubeyras second (12 wins) with Adam Chatfield and Florent Richier tied on 7 Main event wins each
  • Jack Brunell (UK) has had more podiums finishes than any rider without making it to the top step
  • Edgar Torronteras and Dan Whitby (Freestyle MX) haven’t missed an Arenacross event in 10 years!
  • There have been 20 different nationalities, across five continents race in the Pro Class since the series began
  • Josh Hansen (USA) is the only American to win a single Main Event (2016 – Hydro Arena, Glasgow)
  • Dan Reardon is the only Australian rider to win a Main Event at his final attempt (2020 - Wembley Arena, London)
  • Arenacross crowned the first ever British Motocross Champion on an electric bike in 2023 when Austin Edwards won the e5 Class
  • 2024 will be the first time any electric dirt bike will race in the Pro Class as Stark Varg enter an all-new team
  • We’ve had some iconic show hosts including Christian Stevenson (aka DJ BBQ), BBC Olympic winter sport hosts Ed Leigh and Tim Warwood, to European Wakeboard Champ, Matt Crowhurst; all of whom have been ably-assisted by their ‘knowledge’ – the ever long standing voice of AX, Jeff Perret!
  • Matt Bates, Arenacross Owner said: “I’m so proud of what we’ve achieved in the 10 years of Arenacross and can’t thank our loyal fans, riders, their families and race teams enough. Arenacross has created some amazing moments for the sport of motorcycling and introduced thousands of new fans to dirt bikes and given opportunities to thousands of new bike owners.

    “Along our journey we’ve worked hard to introduce brands such as Bolesworth, Garmin, Ford, Monster Energy, TomTom and so many more to connect with some amazing events – but above all, I can’t thank our incredible team of staff enough for making Saturday nights in the cold, wet winters, that much more fun!”

    The Arenacross British Championship presented by Fix Auto UK returns from January to February 2024; tickets are on sale now and make the perfect Christmas gift… make it a Merry Arenacrossmas for the motocross fan in your life by visiting www.bolesworth.com/arenacross.

    » Categories: Club News, Home Page, Motocross
    Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
    ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
    CV21 2YX.
    Telephone: 01788 566400
    Email: admin@acu.org.uk