Nominations Open for the Pinhard Trophy

Wednesday September 13, 2023 at 9:07pm
Nominations Open for the Pinhard Trophy
Once again the Sunbeam MCC are seeking nominations for one of the UK’s most prestigious awards – THE PINHARD TROPHY which is in the gift of Sunbeam MCC. This award has been presented since 1950 to the best Under-21 year old sporting motorcyclist competing under ACU or SACU jurisdiction.

They should be under-21 on 1st November 2022.(See Rules). Success in the last year is important but performance over previous years will be considered. The Judges remain interested in work done at club level and in the community as well as on the National/International stage.

Last year’s winner was road-racer Rory Skinner. Having been BSB SuperSport champion he is now making a name for himself in Moto2. Rory’s response on learning that he will receive the Pinhard Trophy was “To be awarded the Pinhard Trophy is a massive honour and to have my name on a trophy alongside the greats of the sport is something I am very proud of.”

Previous winners are an honours roll of motorcycling greats over the last 70 years who have excelled in all spheres of the sport including Mike Hailwood, Jeff Smith, Roy Peplow, Dan Shorey, Alexz Wigg and a host of others who have gone on to be national and international household names.

The Trophy is a huge 3-gallon cup together with a replica Tankard for retention.  Sunbeam MCC awards the trophy in memory of Frederick William Pinhard who died in 1948 whilst serving as Secretary of the Club.

All sections of the ACU together with the Scottish-ACU are invited to submit entries as well as anyone who feels personally eligible to put a candidate forward. Entries can be for active competitors or administrators. Closing date is November 1st 2023.

Editors of leading motorcycle periodicals are invited as judges together with the General Secretary of the ACU and three officials appointed by Sunbeam MCC.

Entry Forms, Regulations and a List of Previous Winners are available from Sunbeam’s website or Trustee for the Trophy, Tony Lloyd who can be contacted on or 07751300233

Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400