The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us

2021 Pinhard Winner Harry Hemingway Youngest Ever

Tuesday January 4, 2022 at 4:05pm
2021 Pinhard Winner Harry Hemingway Youngest Ever

The Sunbeam MCC is delighted to announce that Trials Rider Harry Hemingway has been adjudged winner of The Pinhard Trophy for 2021. He is believed to be the youngest so far beating by 3 weeks Road Racer Scott Redding who won won in 2008 and is the latest from the famous Lampkin dynasty.

This is one of the UK’s most prestigious awards, the giant 3-gallon cup having been presented since 1950 to the best Under-21 year old sporting motorcyclist competing under ACU or SACU jurisdiction.

Despite Covid, Harry competed in Italy and Andorra and is Vice World 125cc Champion. He is Vice European Youth Champion, missing out on Top Spot after a Tie-Break. Also he is European Junior Champion. In the UK he won 7 out of 9 rounds and came 2nd in the other 2 to become British 125cc Champion and overall Mintex winner. The Judges were particularly impressed by his efforts at Club level in helping set up events and encouraging younger clubmates.

Harry’s response to learning that he will receive the Pinhard Trophy this year was "When I got the phone call after finishing school, I was initially taken back by the news of winning the Pinhard trophy and extremely pleased. This award if very significant to me as it has been in the family a few times before with the likes of: Dougie Lampkin, John Lampkin, Martin Lampkin and also Arthur Lampkin. This year has been a great year for me with taking the British and European title as well as Vice World Champion. None of this would have been possible without my amazing sponsors both personal and team related and of course my family who have backed me on my journey and also, my brother - George who has helped me out at all of the events he wasn’t eligible to compete in. Lastly I would like to say a massive thank you to my club Yeadon and Guisley for putting me forward for this award of which I’m massively proud to represent this great Yorkshire club. 

As well as Harry, Yeadon and Guisley produced previous winners Martin Crosswaite-1999 and Jack Challoner-2010. He faced stiff competition and voting was extremely close with entrants representing Enduro and Road Racing as well as Trials.  Normally presentation is at the ACU Awards Dinner in January but this year it will be at an event venue in the early spring.

Previous winners are a list of motorcycling greats over the last 70 years who have excelled in all spheres of the sport including Mike Hailwood, Jeff Smith, Bill Martin, Roy Peplow, Dan Shorey, Scott Ellis, Alexz Wigg and a host of others who have gone on to be national and international household names. Last year’s winner was Trials Rider Alicia Robinson.

Sunbeam MCC awards the trophy in memory of Frederick William Pinhard who died in 1948 whilst serving as Secretary of the Club. Judges were editors of leading motorcycle periodicals, General Secretary of the ACU, President of Sunbeam MCC and 2 officials appointed by Sunbeam MCC. 

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Trials
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400