The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us
[Read the current ACU COVID-19 Statement here]
Due to the current health crisis our offices are closed until further notice. If you have a query, or need to contact us for any reason, please email and it will be forwarded to the relevant department.

Springspeed Nationals at Santa Pod Raceway

Tuesday April 30, 2019 at 2:48pm
Round two of the ACU Championships take’s place at Santa Pod Raceway on the Spring Bank holiday weekend on May 4th - 5th.


Top Fuel Bike.

After winning and setting a new ACU ET record 6.062 at Easter, Reigning Champion Steve Woollatt will be hoping to continue the success of the last round.  Neil Midgley reached the final at the Easter meeting only to have his transmission break in his semi-final race.  Midgley did record a personal best of 6.439 during qualifying.  There is still more to come from this bike.  Allan Davies had a great Easter with his Puma V Twin powered bike. Going quicker and faster on every run, recording best figures of 7.029-199.86mph.  Team are close to their first six-second pass and their first 200mph plus run.  If the weather and track is good they may achieve both at this event.


Funny Bike.

With Festival of Power winner Jiri Lukes has not entered for this event.  Kars Van Den Belt could be the rider to look out for after recording 7.037-192.92mph during qualifying and was runner up to Lukes.  Dave Batcheler ran personal best figures 7.338-178.53mph on Phil Crossley’s bike and could be dark horse to win the event.  Dave Peters has won before and reached the semis in round one of the championship.  Phil Crossley did very well riding Bob Brookes bike for the first time and can improve at this event.


Comp Bike.

Louis Davies won his first ACU Championship event at the Festival of Power on the ex Nick Daniels Funny Bike.  He will be the one everybody will have to beat, after figures of 7.601-171.07mph.  Reigning Champion Margot Schmidt didn’t get off to a good start losing in round one of the eliminations and will be hoping to have her championship winning combination at this event.  Paul Hambridge has run 7.5secs and will be challenging for the winner’s circle.  Former champion Phil Leamon had a runner up finish at the Festival of Power and will be hoping for more success.  John McLean Jr recorded the quickest run on the ex Rob Wilkinson bike 8.491.  Having not qualified in the first round of the championship Chris Neary will be trying to get in the show at this event.  Ian Burns and Hensley Eugenia make their first appearances of the season.  Valentijn Sandtke damaged his engine and has entered the event.   Sean Mills and Ivana Van Den Berg are late entry


Super Street Bike.

There are only five bikes entered for the event.  Mark Dainty had a problem just before the eliminations started, Dave Thomas came in as an alternate, but he had a fluid leak and Chris Reed had an issue also in the eliminations, so all three riders will be hoping for better luck.  Pete Field is using the event as a test session for the Main Event meeting at the end of the month.  Graham Dance will make his first appearance in 2019.  Garry Bowe and Dave Smith are late entry


Report by Steven Moxley. 

Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400