The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us
[Read the current ACU COVID-19 Statement here]
Due to the current health crisis our offices are closed until further notice. If you have a query, or need to contact us for any reason, please email and it will be forwarded to the relevant department.

Pinhard Trophy 2018 Seeking Nominations

Friday August 31, 2018 at 12:07pm
Pinhard Trophy 2018 Seeking Nominations
Once again we are seeking nominations for one of the UK’s most prestigious awards - THE PINHARD TROPHY which is in the gift of Sunbeam MCC. This award has been presented since 1950 to the best Under 21-year-old sporting motorcyclist competing under ACU or SACU jurisdiction. (See Rules)

Last year’s winner was Grass Track and Speedway rider Luke Harris and the giant 3-gallon cup was presented to Luke at the ACU Awards ceremony in January. 2017 was a successful year for Luke, winning yet another British Grass Track Title after three titles in 2016. He was also active with 3 Speedway teams captaining Reading Racers to a League title also riding with Cradley Heathens and Eastbourne Eagles. He has been riding since he was 3 years old and the Judges were impressed by his efforts in supporting other youngsters just starting out. He still helps his Dad setting up and clearing local grass tracks. As an ambassador for the sport he has appeared on the BBC to represent Reading Racers.

On hearing of his win Luke said, "Thank you to everyone who has judged me as the winner of the Pinhard Trophy. It is such a prestigious award to win and I am very thankful to be chosen. A big thank you to Terry Golds who has been sponsoring me for the past 3 years, his help has been very much appreciated! Thank you also to The Sunbeam Motorcycle Club for allowing me to be a part of this great award!"


Previous winners are an honours roll of motorcycling greats over the last 60 years who have excelled in all spheres of the sport including Mike Hailwood, Jeff Smith, Roy Peplow, Dan Shorey, Alexz Wigg, 3 Lampkin’s and a host of others who have gone on to be national and international household names. Not least being the late, great John Surtees.


The Trophy is a huge 3-gallon cup together with a retention replica Tankard. Sunbeam MCC awards the trophy in memory of Frederick William Pinhard who died in 1948 whilst serving as Secretary of the Club.


All sections of the ACU together with the Scottish-ACU are invited to submit entries as well as anyone who feels personally eligible to make an entry. Entries can be for active competitors or administrators under-21 at the beginning of November 2017 (see Rules).


Editors of leading motorcycle periodicals are invited as judges together with the General Secretary of the ACU and three officials appointed by Sunbeam MCC.


Entry Forms, Regulations and a List of Previous Winners are available from Sunbeam’s website or Trustee for the Trophy, Tony Lloyd who can be contacted on
or 07751300233

Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400