Season Finale and Stars at Darley

Tuesday October 3, 2017 at 4:17pm
Season Finale and Stars at Darley
This forthcoming weekend, Saturday 7th – Sunday 8th October 2017, will see the traditional end of season finale at the Darley Moor Motor Sports Centre, near Ashbourne (DE6 2ET), when the Darley Moor Motor Cycle Road Race Club hosts the Stars at Darley meeting.

Saturday will see a full practice day for both the Stars entrants and regular championship competitors from 10am – 5pm, whilst Sunday will see Practice starting at 10am with the first race scheduled for 12.00 noon.

As always, this final meeting of the season takes a different format to the previous Rounds; the two main 10 lap ‘Stars at Darley’ races will see a number of national level competitors duelling for the 2017 title, plus their will be an international feel to the Sidecar race with a number of guest rides from top teams. This will also provide the perfect opportunity for the Darley Moor regulars to assess their level of competiveness against some of the

Country’s fastest racers. Unfortunately, many of the regular ‘Stars’ visitors are either injured or heavily involved with the British Superbike Shootout this year, but multiple winner Richard Cooper (Hucknall), Bennett’s Suzuki and former regulars Darley Moor Sound of Thunder Champion Gary Henriksen (Matlock) and Tom Fisher (Nottingham) have already entered. Fans of three wheeled motorsport will have their own equivalent of a ‘Stars’ race this weekend when multiple World Champions and TT Winners take to the grid alongside the Darley Moor regulars; Mansfield’s fastest Ben and Tom Birchall; multiple TT winner Dave Molyneux (Isle of Man) with

passenger and former World Champion Patrick Farance (Cumbria); TT Winners Conrad Harrison /Andy Windle (Idle). In addition to these ‘Stars’ competing former winners John McGuinness (Morecombe) and current Champion Peter Hickman will also be at the meeting, but not racing.

Alongside the ‘Stars’ races there are still eight championships to be decided, but rather than two races, per class, giving a maximum of 18 points towards their tally this weekend will see the classes receive quadruple (36) points, for one 15 lap race each. This can obviously turn the championship tables on their heads and with plenty of local riders in with a chance the entertainment is not confined to the headline races.

There is also a very special piece of silverware available to the overall winner of the combined Steel Framed 600/ Pre Injection 600 race, The Jake Hingley Trophy in memory of a racer who began his career at Darley Moor in 2012, in the Steel Framed class; unfortunately his career was cut short at Cadwell Park in 2014.

Championships to be decided include:

The tightest championship is the Classic 500 which Dave McCoy (Hull) leading from Oliver Presswood (Bath) by just 1 point.

Just 10 points separate the top 3 of the Steel Framed 600 class, but another two riders are also in with a chance if others should falter. Dean Ephgrave (Hucknall) has a 3 point advantage over Steve Price (Cheadle), with Anthony Porter (Chesterfield) a further 7 points back, but then there is Wally Bradbury (Chesterfield) and Dave Marsden (Birkenhead) who are 12 points and 22 points respectively, adrift of Ephgrave.

The CB500 Championship will be decided between Paul Sawyer (Nuneaton) and Andy Whale (Birmingham). The pair have enjoyed some excellent races throughout the season and with just 8 points splitting them it is sure to be a hard fought battle this weekend.

2017 Formula Darley Champion, David Carson (Northwich) will be looking to add the Mini Sound of Thunder title to his tally, but after losing out to him in that Joe Walton (Preston) will be looking at turning his 10 point deficit around and claim the silverware.

Ben Scranage (Bolton) and Andy Taylor (Chesterfield) are sure to keep the spectators entertained in the Peak Cup and Open Solo races. Whilst Scranage holds the advantage in both Championships, Taylor is just 9 points behind in the Peak Cup class, with Steven Procter (Wakefield) a further 17 points behind. In the Open Solo class

Scranage enjoys a 19 point lead over Taylor, with Julian Tillotson (Bolton) 26 points and Carl Morris (Etwall) 32 points behind Scranage.

The Formula 600 Sidecar Championship is just between two pairings; Dan Knight/Matthew Rostron enjoying a 25 point lead over Howard Baker/Mike Killingsworth (Sutton Coldfield/Lincoln).

With a 34 point advantage James Bull (Southampton) has certainly got one hand on the Formula 125

Championship, but failing to record any points at all will allow his only challenger, Jake Hopper (Durham) to take the Championship, but only if he can take victory this weekend.

Be sure to get there early to claim your favourite vantage point!

Ticket prices for the weekend are:

Adult admission to Saturday’s Practice is £6.00, Senior Citizens £4.00.

For Sunday’s Stars at Darley adults admission, £16.00 and Senior Citizens, £10.00.

There is ample room for spectators to camp and caravan at Darley Moor over the race weekends. The cost is £5.00 per unit per night. Camping will normally be available from 4.00 pm on the Friday evening until 10.00 am on the day after the meeting or by special arrangement with the circuit management – Call 01335 343833.

Darley Moor is one of the few circuits in which dogs are welcome, provided they are kept on a lead at all times during race day and the owners act in a responsible manner.

2017 Championship standings after Round 6

Peak Cup

1st Ben Scranage, 56pts; 2nd Andy Taylor, 47pts; 3rd Steven Procter, 30pts;

Open Solo

1st Ben Scranage, 60pts; 2nd Andy Taylor, 41pts; 3rd Julian Tillotson, 34pts;

Open Sidecars

1st Anthony Eades/Keith Box, 81pts; 2nd Brian Wilson/Mike Fairhurst, 40pts; 3rd Gary Wilson/Tony Griffiths, 34pts;


1st Chris Moore, 102pts; 2nd Graham Wilson, 63pts; 3rd Phillip Leatherland, 27pts

Formula 600

1st Lloyd Shelley, 90pts; 2nd Steven Procter, 42pts; 3rd Matthew Zschiesche, 41pts

Formula Darley

1st David Carson, 83pts; 2nd Joe Walton, 43pts; 3rd Chris Moore, 38pts;

Formula 125

1st James Bull, 69pts; 2nd Jake Hopper, 35pts; 3rd Jamie Hanks-Elliott, 32pts;

Formula 600 Sidecars

1st Dan Knight/Matthew Rostron, 86pts; 2nd Howard Baker/Mike Killingsworth, 61pts; 3rd Richard Hackney/ Andrew Mitchell, 25pts

Steel Framed 600

1st Dean Ephgrave, 52pts; 2nd Steve Price, 49pts; 3rd Anthony Porter, 42pts

Pre Injection 600

1st Andy Lowe, 90pts; 2nd Dan Milner, 48pts; 3rd Matthew Smith, 35pts

Mini Sound of Thunder

1st David Carson, 69pts; 2nd Joe Walton, 59pts; 3rd Jason Wilkes, 29pts

Sound of Thunder

1st Lloyd Shelley, 90pts; 2nd Matt Zschiesche, 45pts; 3rd Rich Baker, 32pts


1st Paul Sawyer, 77pts; 2nd Andy Whale, 69pts; 3rd Shay Commins, 33pts

Pre Injection (Up to 1300cc)

1st Jamie Pearson, 99pts; 2nd Mark Brailsford, 47pts; 3rd Andrew Lowe, 43pts

Classic 250

1st Geoff Hadwin, 102pts; 2nd Andy Wilson, 37pts; 3rd Gary Whitman, 30pts

Classic 350

1st Simon Collins, 90pts; 2nd Mark Cockerton, 55pts; 3rd Brian Prescott, 38pts;

Classic 500

1st Dave McCoy, 60pts; 2nd Oliver Presswood, 59pts; 3rd Frank Melling, 41pts

Classic 1000

1st David Bradley, 87pts; 2nd Neil Hingley, 36pts; 3rd Mike Harding, 29pts

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Road Race
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400