The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us

Jack Peace Wins Pinhard Trophy for 2016

Tuesday January 3, 2017 at 10:00am
Jack Peace Wins Pinhard Trophy for 2016

The Sunbeam MCC is delighted to announce that 16 year old Trials Rider Jack Peace has been adjudged the winner of The Pinhard Trophy for 2016. 

This is one of the UK’s most prestigious awards, the giant 3-gallon cup having been presented since 1950 to the best Under-21 year old sporting motorcyclist competing under ACU or SACU jurisdiction.

2016 has been a fantastic year for Jack – European Junior Cup (open to up-to-24 year olds), World Youth 125 Championship, European Youth Championship, British Youth A Championship, and a list of top results on the domestic scene including winning his first Adult National. The Judges were particularly impressed by Jack’s commitment at grass-roots level, always willing to help out at trials in his area and giving talks promoting motorcycle sport at local schools

Jack's success follows his elder brother Dan’s Runner-Up position in 2014.  On hearing of his win Jack said
  "I`m really honoured to have been nominated by my local clubs in The East Yorks Centre for this prestigious award.  I`d like to say a big Thankyou to them and to the Judges who voted for me. I can`t wait for my name to be added to the list of winners of this fantastic trophy.


2016 has been an amazing year for me and I`m really grateful to Mum, Dad and Dan, JST Gas Gas UK, The Gas Gas Factory and to everyone else who has helped to make it possible for me to achieve so much this year.”

Jack faced stiff competition and voting was extremely close.  Runner-up was Jack Price another young trials rider from Yorkshire. Presentation of the Trophy will be at the ACU Awards Dinner on 28th January.

Previous winners are a list of motorcycling greats over the last 66 years who have excelled in all spheres of the sport including Mike Hailwood, Jeff Smith, Bill Martin, Roy Peplow, Dan Shorey, Scott Ellis, Alexz Wigg and a host of others who have gone on to be national and international household names. Last year’s winner was Grass Track/Long Track Rider James Shanes

Sunbeam MCC awards the trophy in memory of Frederick William Pinhard who died in 1948 whilst serving as Secretary of the Club. 

Judges were editors of leading motorcycle periodicals, General Secretary of the ACU and 3 officials appointed by Sunbeam MCC. 

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Trials, Enduro
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400