Oldfield/Barnes take the lead in Hadrian Marine ACU Sidecarcross Clubmans

Monday April 11, 2016 at 10:40am
Oldfield/Barnes take the lead in Hadrian Marine ACU Sidecarcross Clubmans
After an overcast start to the day, with a surprisingly dry track, conditions were looking good, for the first round of the Hadrian Marine ACU Clubmans Championship at Binsted, nr Alton on Sunday 20th March.


Race 1 sees Rob Oldfield & Faye Barnes take the holeshot, closely followed by Rob Foden/Dug Woods, Shane Horton/Brad Connor and Danny Gray/Lewis Gray. Due to changes in the track making it difficult to pass, the field doesn’t change much throughout the race. Oldfield/Barnes lead throughout and go on to take the win, pulling a large gap from second place of Horton/Connor, closely followed by Gray/Gray with Parr/Last holding 4th.


Race 2 sees Mark Banks/Chris Simpson take the holeshot, however, a mistake after a few corners sees them loose the lead to Oldfield/Barnes, being chased very closely by Elliott Ryan/Scott Ryan, and Gray/Gray. As they come round to start the second lap we see Ryan/Ryan have taken the lead, which they hold throughout the race, whilst Oldfield/Barnes battle hard with Gray/Gray. We again see Parr/Last battle their way through to 4th and Foden/Woods come home in 5th.  


Race 3 sees another holeshot from Oldfield/Barnes showing that they are definitely a crew to watch throughout the season. Gray/Gray are hot on their heels, with Ryan/Ryan not far behind. With a just a few laps to go, Gray/Gray and Ryan/Ryan make a pass on Oldfield/Barnes, putting them down to 3rd, with James Whitt/Jamie Greensill following closely in 4th


With several teams showing real potential for the season, we see Rob Oldfield/Faye Barnes take the lead in the Championship, with Danny Gray/Lewis Gray in 2nd, and Steve Parr/Matt Last in 3rd.


The crews will take to the track again for Round 2 of the Championship on April 24th, at Champs Parc, Kettering, NN14 3NB, where we will see if Oldfield/Barnes can retain their lead or whether someone will challenge them for the title.


Words by Polly Chewter

Pictures by Zoe Parr & Rosie Jackson


Top 10 overall results


Pos 1


Rob Oldfield/Faye Barnes


Pos 2


Danny Gray/Lewis Gray


Pos 3


Steve Parr/Matt Last


Pos 4


Elliott Ryan/Scott Ryan


Pos 5


Pete Thomas/Daniel Spencer


Pos 6


Dan Lawry/Darren Bishop


Pos 7


Tom Smith/Andy Smith


Pos 8


Rob Foden/Dug Woods


Pos 9


Andy Houghton/Sam Houghton


Pos 10


James Whitt/Jamie Greensill


» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Motocross
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400
Email: admin@acu.org.uk