Monday May 9, 2005 at 12:00am
Sam Connor won the international Scottish Six Days Trial on Saturday after a cliffhanger finish that secured victory from Wetherby's Ben Hemingway and Spanish veteran Amos Bilbao. Connor, from West Horsley, got through the pain barrier to snatch victory by just one penalty from twenty six year old Ben Hemingway in what was Connor's come-back ride into major British trials after shoulder and ankle operations over the winter period. Hemingway's runner-up spot was a shock to many as he normally acts as mechanic and assistant to Dougie Lampkin, and does not compete on a regular basis. He is also a cousin of the former world trials champion. In fourth place was ninteen year old James Dabill who deposed past winners Steve Colley and Graham Jarvis for fourth place overall. Last year's winner Jarvis failed a section on Ben Nevis in the closing stages. Ten Yorkshire riders occupied places in the top twenty places in which Ian Austermuhle took tenth place after a tie-break decider with Michael Brown. They took first and second in the Newcomers class.
Gary MacDonald consistently scored all week hovering around tenth place but eventually signed off in twelfth place ahead of Joe Baker and Tom Sagar. Roger Mount, Les Winthrop, Gavin Johnstone and Kevin Dignan formed the final five home riders. The amazing Liai Sanz got her HRC Montesa home in thirty ninth place ahead of Iris Kramer and Magota Sugitani after Katy Sunter slipped down the final order. Mark Jackson won the Over 40's from Carlos Casas and Ian Weatherill. The trial was staged under mixed weather conditions but the organising team overcame any threat to what was another classic Highland event, enjoyed by thousands of visitors.
Provisional Results.
Winner: Sam Connor (MRS Sherco) 20 penalties (North British Rubber Company Trophy)
Second: Ben Hemingway (JLI Beta) 21 (Jimmy Hutchison Memorial Trophy).
Third: Amos Bilbao (H.R.C. Montesa) 24 (Henderson Trophy).
Fourth James Dabill (JLI Beta) 25.
Fifth: Steve Colley (Gas Gas) 28.
Sixth: Graham Jarvis (MRS Sherco) 32.
Scottish: 1 Gary MacDonald (JLI Beta) 53; 2 Roger Mount (Gas Gas) 43; 3 Les Winthrop (Scorpa) 181.
Newcomers: 1 Ian Austermuhle (JLI Beta) 47; 2 Michael Brown (JLI Beta) 47; 3 Tommi Ahvala (Gas Gas) 67.
Over 40's: 1 Martin Jackson (Montesa) 126; 2 Liai Sanz (HRC Montesa) 147; 3 Albert Cabanes (Beta) 148.
Women: 1 Sanz, 2 Iris Kramer (Gas Gas) 358; 3 Katy Sunter (Gas Gas) 573.
Best first time: 1 Austermuhle, 2 Brown.
Services rider: Andy Huddleston (Montesa) 65 (Durham Constabulary).
Scottish Over 40: Sean Mackay (Ascol Sherco) 315.
Scottish Club Team: Lochaber.
Mamore Trophy -private owners: Dunfermline MCC.
Sevices Team: Police.
Foreign Team: Spain B.
Scottish Club Team: Perth & District A.
Club Team: Yeadon -Guiseley.
Foreign One Make Team: Repsol Montesa 

» Categories: Trials
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400