George Greenland Trophy Trial - ACU Southern Centre Trial Rd 3

Friday May 24, 2024 at 10:53am
George Greenland Trophy Trial - ACU Southern Centre Trial Rd 3

Waltham Chase MCTC hosted Round 3 of the Southern Centre Trials Championship, the George Greenland Trophy Trial in bright sunshine at the superb ex Ken Hall Scramble venue of Manor Farm at Langrish in Hampshire. A moments silence was held for Maureen, George’s wife who died during the week of the trial, a keen biker for many year’s and a biking enthusiast all her life she will be greatly missed. Over 100 riders took on the challenge of the mix of wooded sections and plenty of grassy climbs and drops making good use of the contours of the land and providing spectacular views across the South Downs. Round 3 was held over three laps of fifteen sections.

Reigning expert champion Tom Moss got back on track losing just six marks, two on section 11 which took marks from all the experts, a short cross camber run followed by a very tight turn gave no run up before a steep climb and traction was difficult to get as the acceleration point became very loose. Moss’ biggest loss of three came over the roots of section 13 which was surprising as most riders managed to get through clean. Oli Gray is getting closer and closer each week as he concentrates on trials as opposed to mountain biking, he finished on ten, four marks behind Moss, a good result for Gray going into the ACU Trial championship at the Hookwoods in June. Tom Richards, one of a big team of Isle Of Wight riders taking on the championship was only two marks behind Gray in third. Moss leads the championship from Gray by twelve points.

Kev Nolan made it a hat trick of Clubman Expert victories in the championship, also losing half of his eight marks on section 13, the top four were only covered by seven marks with Wayne Holdsworth second on ten. James Gammons was third and holds a clear second in the championship behind Nolan.

The Past Masters have lived up to their name with three different ‘masters’ in the championship so far. It was former ‘Junior Kickstart’ rider Neal Hubbard who edged out round one winner Gary Tarrant by a single mark. Tarrant was aware of how close it was during the day but a five on section 11 pushed him back to second, eight marks covered the top six with round two winner Keith Hitchings in sixth. Tarrant leads the championship by fourteen due to him being the ‘master’ of consistency. On the same route Isle of Wight rider Ajay Shaw, topped the high scoring Clubman class losing over fifty, Leevan Laishley was second thirty five behind. Shaw tops the championship with another Islander Rob Baker third after finishing third at Manor Farm.

Ringwood rider Mike Hinton put in a great ride losing just two in the mixed route Sportsman class pipping fellow Ringwood rider and championship leader Graham King by a single mark. Tom De Jonge who is only a point behind King could only manage sixth on the day in a competitive class. 

On the C Route Veteran class rider Darren Howard managed one of only two clean rides in the trial on his ex Jack Somerton Beta. He was the third different winner in the class this year finishing five ahead of Tony Chalk with the top seven all under 10 marks lost. Dave Penfold completed a hat trick of third places to lead the championship by eight from Howard. In the Novice C Route class Scott Owen consolidated his championship lead losing six marks for his second win by just a mark from Chris Wiseman. Tony Billingham topped the Twinshocks on seven which included a rogue five on the grassy banks of section 3, he finished well ahead of Andy Gates who is trying to get to grips with his Fantic. On section 13 he complained he wouldn’t be able to stop at the bottom of a very steep drop, however he did manage to stop but then he couldn’t accelerate back up, a five and a big grin said it all! Bob Hampton was on form outscoring 2023 Pre67 Champion Graham Barton to top the Pre67 class on his BSA Bantam.    

On the D Route, Jim Gray didn’t put a foot wrong on his Ariel HT producing only the second clean  trial of the day on a challenging route for the Pre67’s. Mike Jarrett was second on his BSA B40 on four. First time out on his new Montesa Lloyd James finished on six one ahead of Jon Hunter, a five on section one costing Hunter dear. They now share the lead in the championship. Mark Billen took his first class win in the Twinshocks with an impressive ride on nine. 

A strong contingency of fifteen riders contested the Youth Classes who had an additional round at XHG Tigers so this is their fourth. Rowan Stewart took an uncontested Youth A win. Oscar Sacre was the third different winner in Youth B for his best ride in the championship is the most competitive class. Tommy Keet pipped Howard Mumford for second by a single mark, whilst Championship leader with two wins David James finished fifth. Billy Guilford won his first round of the season on his recently acquired TRS, three ahead of Islander Riley True, and on the D Route Finley Wiseman recovered from rolling down the hillside off section 13, something all D Route riders thought they might do, to finish five marks ahead of Riley Baker. Baker’s second place gives  the Islander the championship lead and extra pocket money?


Experts A: Thomas Moss (GasGas) 6, Oli Gray (Beta) 10, Thomas Richards (GasGas) 12,  Jacob Young  (TRS) 17, Mike Evans (GasGas) 20

Clubman Expert: A/B: Kev Nolan (Vertigo) 8, Wayne Holdsworth (GasGas) 10, James Gammons (Vertigo) 14, Martin Carter (TRS) 15, Jordan Peach (Beta) 23, Bailey Tibbs (Beta) 26, Sophie Bailey (TRS) 31, 

Past Masters B: Neal Hubbard (GasGas) 8, Gary Tarrant (GasGas) 9, Andy Ball (Beta) 11, Paul Doney (GasGas) 14, Andre Ansell (GasGas) 15, Keith Hitchings (TRS) 16

Clubman B: Ajay Shaw (TRS) 58, Leevan Laishley (Beta) 85, Robert Baker (TRS) 104.

Sportsman B/C: Mike Hinton (Vertigo) 2, Graham King (Vertigo) 3, James Dean (Beta) 13, Martin Medcraff (Beta) 16, Simon Rye (Beta) 20, Thomas De Jonge (Vertigo) 29.

Novice C: Scott Owen (GasGas) 6, Chris Wiseman (GasGas) 7, Sam Jurich (Beta) 21, Jacob Ball (Beta)  22, Henry Drane  (Beta) 64, Steve Corney (Beta) 72

Veteran C: Darren Howard (Beta) 0, Tony Chalk (Beta) 5, Dave Penfold (GasGas) 6, Chris Guppy (Vertigo) 6, Mick Treagus (GasGas) 7, Paul Drane (Sherco) 9

Twinshock C: Tony Billingham (Yamaha) 7, Andy Gates (Fantic) 24, Mik Machinek (Honda) 26

Pre67 C: Bob Hampton (BSA) 23, Graham Barton (BSA) 46

Adult D Route: Lloyd James (Montesa) 6, Jon Hunter (Beta) 7, Ronnie Allen (Montesa) 14, James Draycott Lovell (Montesa) 22, Graham Wrann (GasGas) 23, Steve Wagstaff (Montesa) 24

Twinshock D: Mark Billen (Fantic) 9, Geoff Parker (Fantic) 38

Pre67 D: Jim Gray (Ariel) 0, Mike Jarrett (BSA) 4, Andy Withers (BSA) 17, Trevor Newell (BSA) 21

Youth A: Rowan Stewart (TRS) 64, 

Youth B: Oliver Sacre (GasGas) 32, Tommy Keet (beta) 44, Howard Mumford (GasGas) 45, Luke Batten (TRS) 50, David James (GasGas) 80, Jack Holdsworth (GasGas) 99, Jack Reaney (Beta) 132.

Youth C: Billy Guilford (TRS) 32, Riley True (Beta) 18 

Youth D: Finley Wiseman (Oset) 30, Riley Baker (TRS) 35.

Full results and championship positions are on ACU Southern Centre Facebook Page

Photographs are on Awsportsphoto on facebook

Report Andy Withers  
» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Trials
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400