BMCRC - Round 2 at Pembrey

Thursday April 18, 2024 at 4:10pm

Round two of Bemsee’s 2024 season took the club to Wales and to the fast-but-quirky, one and a half mile Pembrey circuit.

In the Reactive Parts MRO Powerbikes, - including Clubman 1000 and Retro 1000 - Josh Wainwright clinched all four wins aboard his Honda Fireblade, making it seven from eight this season so far. Steven Butterworth impressed with pole position and secured four Retro 1000 victories, with three second-place finishes overall. Meanwhile, James Vincer claimed all four Clubman wins.

The Dart Motorsport MRO 600 and Clubman 600 class saw Morgan Creasey emerge as the standout star aboard his Warics Ltd Yamaha R6. He claimed two victories, while Harry Fowle and Lewis Jones each secured one win apiece. Aaron Monk and Jake Kourti battled it out in the Clubman category, with both riders notching two wins apiece.

In the Rookie 1000 and 600 races, Dan Chamberlain dominated with three Rookie 1000 wins, while Dan Neal and James Lord were honours even with two wins each in the 600cc class.

There were three winners across the four races in the ACU Team Green Junior Cup and Senior Ninjas, with Toby Skayman, Marley Mackenzie, and Luca Wilkinson delivering standout performances. Skayman and Mackenzie each secured one win on Saturday, while Wilkinson stole the show on Sunday with two victories, one of which came by a razor-thin margin of two hundredths of a second.

All overall race winners came from the Junior class, with Ben Brown shining in the Senior Ninjas with three class wins, with a best of third overall.

After sharing the wins evenly at Brands Hatch with David Twyford, Darren Dowds was the rider to beat in the Properly Protected MRO Minitwins, taking three wins after qualifying on pole. He rebounded from a DNF in race one, which was won by early title rival Twyford.

Michael Hopkins and Tim Wood took 25 Rookie championship points each on Saturday, before George Davis showcased his potential with two wins on Sunday.

In the Thunderbike Sport series, Andrew Denyer and Matt Wetherell shared the spoils with two wins each, while Tony Davies and David May mirrored their success in the Thunderbike Extreme class.

Steven Butterworth doubled up in the Thunderbike Ultra class with two victories, alongside triumphs from Morgan Creasey and Seamus McGlynn. Paul Potchy Williams asserted his dominance in the Supertwins class by clinching all four wins.

Following a perfect score from Brands Hatch, in the DFDS Yamaha Past Masters Kevin Wholey claimed three wins out of four races, narrowly missing out on the first race victory to David Ball.

Marley Mackenzie took his first wins of the season in the Formula 400 class, with three victories, while Steve Watt and Kade Rapa impressed in the Sub-64bhp class with two wins each. Andrew Wales delivered a flawless performance in the Modality BMZRC 250 MZs category, securing all four wins.

Victories in the four F1 and F2 Sidecar races were split between the F1 pairing of Chris Wright and Paul Bailey and the F2 outfit of Greg Lambert and Andy Javens.

The third round of the 2024 season will take place amidst Mayday celebrations, running at Snetterton on the bank holiday weekend of 3-5 May.

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Road Race
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400