BMCRC Round 1 at Brands Hatch Indy

Wednesday March 20, 2024 at 1:45pm
BMCRC Round 1 at Brands Hatch Indy

The British Motorcycle Racing Club waved the green flag on its 2024 season, when racing got underway at the club’s home circuit of Brands Hatch.

In the Reactive Parts MRO Powerbikes, Josh Wainwright started strongly, clinching two wins. Dawid Krawiecki and Conor Thomson each secured a win each. In the new Retro 1000s Alex Symon took three wins, including an excellent second place overall finish. Callum Manley's consistency shone through in the Clubman class, securing three wins out of four available.

In the L&W Law Contractors Rookie 1000s, Dan Chamberlain showcased his potential by clinching victory in three races.

Anthony Johnson stamped his authority in the DART Motorsport MRO 600 class, sweeping all four races. Matthew Fedrick and Aaron Monk were impressive in the Clubman 600 category, securing two wins apiece. Paul Coombs made a notable impression in the Rookie 600s, with three wins.

The Properly Protected MRO Minitwins saw David Twyford and Darren Dowds sharing the spoils with two wins each. Ben King and Tim Wood also shared the wins equally in the Rookie Minitwin class.

In the ACU Team Green Junior Cup and Senior Ninja races reigning Senior class champion Phil Atkinson dominated proceedings with four overall wins. Luca Wilkinson took two, and Travis Rooker and Toby Skayman took one win each in the Junior class.

Kevin Wholey's flawless performance in the DFDS Yamaha Past Masters left rivals trailing behind, as he secured victory in all four races.

Andrew Gill and Craig Dance battled it out in the BMCRC Formula 400 class, with Gill emerging victorious in three of the four races. Steve Rapa took three Sub-64bhp category wins.

Class stalwarts Andrew Wales and Chris Rogers renewed their annual battle in the BMZRC 250 M25 championship, and took a brace of victories apiece.

Three F1 class wins went to Ricky Stevens and Wayne Stevens in the BMCRC Sidecars, the pair also taking three overall race wins. The other overall victory went to the F2 outfit of Alan Founds and Rhys Gibbons, who claimed all four F2 class wins. However, both pairings were just a number of British Championship outfits present for a shakedown ahead of their 2024 campaigns.

The club’s various Thunderbike championships started their seasons at Brands Hatch. In the Extreme class David May was twice victorious to Darren Corkett and Andrew Saunders one win each.

Alex Symon took a hat-trick of wins in the Ultra category, while Matt Wetherell dominated the Sport class with all four wins and 100 championship points.

In the Supertwins there was a double for James O’Mara, with Cameron Harris and Simon Bastable each securing a race win.

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Road Race
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400