The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us

Richardson Stars at Darley Headline’s Season Finale

Monday October 2, 2023 at 4:24pm
Richardson Stars at Darley Headline’s Season Finale
The Darley Moor Motor Cycle Road Race Club are busy preparing the Darley Moor Sports Centre, near Ashbourne (DE6 2ET or What3words: bounty.behalf.charm), for the end of season finale, the Richardson Stars at Darley, and this is on course to be one of the biggest meetings for many years.

Firstly, the Club are grateful for the help and co-operation from West Midlands businessman, motor cycle road race fan, Martyn Richardson, for supporting the 48th Stars at Darley meeting.  The event will follow the same format as 2022, with one 12 lap race on Saturday, 7th October and Sunday 8th October 2023 and the winner of the combined results will be crowned the Richardson Star of Darley.  Amongst the early entries for this year’s meeting are several racers/teams competing at British Superbike Championship level and topping that list is six times Star of Darley and Isle of Man TT legend, John McGuinness MBE (Lancaster) entering his 24th consecutive ‘Stars’ event on a Hawk Racing Honda.  Alongside him will be two British Superbike Championship competitors: Charlie Nesbitt (Swindon) on the MasterMac Honda by Hawk Racing machine and Josh Owens (Aintree) on the Credon Honda by Hawk Racing, the 2020 Pirelli National Junior Superstock  Champion, Ben Luxton (Bredbury) and SBR Kawasaki’s current Junior Superstock Team Carl Harris (Cheshunt) and New Zealander Morgan McLaren Wood.

In addition to the Richardson Stars at Darley races there is the ‘small’ matter of fourteen championship titles to be decided over the weekend.  Peter Fell (Burton on Trent) has already secured the Lightweight title and Iain Davis (Ashbourne) the Classic & Forgotten Era 250cc title with unassailable leads, which leaves everything else to be decided.  Fell also holds the advantage to be the first name on the Wilson Trophy with a 14point advantage over Matt Zschiesche (Stoke on Trent) and an extra point over Aaron Howe (Derby) in 3rd.

Zschiesche and Howe are also battling for honours in the Honda CB500/Suzuki Bandit Championship, with Zschiesche enjoying a 15point lead at the head of the table, over Howe, with Jordon Poole (Stoke on Trent) just a further 2points behind.

The situation is a little different to 250cc class the Classic and Forgotten Era Up to 1300cc Championship, which has Mark Brailsford (Chesterfield) and Adam Sheriff (Barnsley) tied on 54points at the head of the table.  Whilst Steve Price (Stockport) enjoys a 24pt advantage over Mike Lees (Congleton), in the Forgotten Era and Classic 500 class, with Paul Hawksworth (Castle Donington) a further 2points behind, with a maximum of 30 points at stake over the weekend.  Adam Sheriff is also at the head of the Pre-Electronic 600/750 Twin class, but with a 20point lead over Nick Clare (Winsford).

Not to be outdone by the solos this weekend the Sidecar races have attracted a huge entry and their own Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire will be on the grid when Maria Costello MBE (Spratton) takes charge of the Formula 600 outfit with Alice Smith (Chipping Campden) her passenger. The Formula 600 sidecar Championship has the outfit of Howard Baker/Mike Killingsworth (Sutton Coldfield/Lincoln) with a 17point lead over Dan Knight/Ben Hughes (Congleton/Northwold) whilst Richard Butler/Kenny Cole (Leicester/Bath) are a further 10points behind.   The Open Sidecar class has just 4points separating the top two crews; Steve Thomas/Danny Lewis (Wirral) holding the advantage over Keith Waddington/Mick Storey (Barnsley/Holme upon Spalding Moor). 

The Formula 600 solo class sees Mark Goodings (Doncaster) leading David Carson (Northwich) by just 7points, with Jack Worth (Barnsley) a further 8points behind in third place.  With Goodings and Carson often the busiest competitors in the Paddock, both are in with a shout of more silverware over the weekend with Carson leading the 700 Twins class by 20points and aiming to be the first name on the Darley Cup Trophy for a few years with a 19point lead over Adam Green (Washington) and Stephen England (Burnley) 20points adrift of Carson.  Not enjoying any advantage Goodings has ground to make up in two other classes: currently 2nd in the Open Solo class, 17points behind Matthew Bell (Sheffield), with Daniel Stubbs (Derby) 7points behind in 3rd place.  This trio also hold the top places in the inaugural Ben Godfrey Trophy with Bell enjoying a 19point lead over Stubbs, with Goodings just 1point behind in 3rd place.

The final championship to be decided is the Pre-Injection Open Solos which sees Stuart Bradbury (Belper) holding a 25point over Rich Chivers-Jarvis (Hucknall).

This is sure to be an excellent so be sure to get to the circuit early to claim your favoured vantage point before the action on track begins at 10am, with advance tickets available at Adults £15 and Seniors £12 or £28 and £22 for a weekend ticket, whereas on the gate prices are £18 Adults and £15 Seniors or £34 and £28 respectively for the weekend tickets.

If you wish to avoid the queues at the gate on race day it is possible to camp at the Darley Moor Motorsport Centre, available from 4.00pm on Friday before the meeting until 12.00 noon on Monday after the meeting. The cost is £6.00 per tent/caravan or Motorhome per night and don’t worry you can also bring the family dog along, provided they are always kept on a lead.

Championship Standings (after Round 5)

Open Solos

1st Matthew Bell, 69pts; 2nd Mark Goodings, 52pts; 3rd Daniel Stubbs, 45pts

Open Sidecars

1st Steve Thomas/Danny Lewis, 60pts; 2nd Keith Waddington/Hannah Brunton, 56pts; 3rd Anthony Eades/Ash Gibson, 34pts

Lightweight Solos

1st Peter Fell, 72pts; 2nd Kyle McKinna-Brown, 30pts; 3rd Alfie Jenkinson, 25pts

Formula 600

1st Mark Goodings, 46pts; 2nd David Carson, 39pts; 3rd Jack Worth, 31pts

Formula 600 Sidecar

1st Howard Baker/Mike Killingsworth, 62pts; 2nd Dan Knight/Ben Hughes, 45pts; 2nd Richard Butler/Kenny Cole, 35pts

Pre-Electronic 600/750 Twin

1st Adam Sheriff, 72pts; 2nd Nick Clare, 52pts; 3rd Rich Chivers-Jarvis,34pts

700 Twins

1st David Carson, 60pts; 2nd Ben Wilkinson, 40pts; 3rd Anthony Thane, 37pts

Honda CB500 & Suzuki Bandit

1st Matt Zschiesche, 65pts; 2nd Aaron Howe, 50pts; 2nd Jordan Poole, 48pts

Pre-Injection Open Solo

1st Stuart Bradbury, 72pts; 2nd Rich Chivers-Jarvis, 47pts; 3rd Ian McKenzie, 24pts

Forgotten Era & Classic 1300

1st Mark Brailsford, 54pts; 2nd Adam Sheriff, 54pts; 3rd Martin Davis, 10pts

Forgotten Era 500 & Classic 500

1st Steve Price, 60pts; 2nd Mike Lees, 36pts; 3rd Paul Hawksworth, 34pts

Forgotten Era & Classic 250

1st Iain Davis, 57pts; 2nd Andy Bailey, 24pts; Chris Barton, 15pts

Wilson Trophy 2023

1st Peter Fell, 60pts; 2nd Matt Zschiesche, 46pts, 3rd Aaron Howe, 45pts

Darley Cup 2023

1st David Carson, 60pts; 2nd Adam Green, 41pts; 3rd Stephen England, 40pts

Ben Godfrey Trophy 2023

1st Matthew Bell, 62pts; 2nd Daniel Stubbs, 43pts; 3rd , Mark Goodings 42pts


Report By Brian George Photography/PR

Photos By Tony Else Photography

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Road Race
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400