Pinhard Trophy 2022 Winner Rory Skinner – Road Racer

Tuesday January 10, 2023 at 8:32pm
Pinhard Trophy 2022 Winner Rory Skinner – Road Racer

The Sunbeam MCC is delighted to announce that Road Racer Rory Skinner from Perth has been adjudged winner of The Pinhard Trophy for 2022. He has been racing since the age of 11 and this year had outstanding success in the British Superbike series

Pinhard is one of the UK’s most prestigious awards, the giant 3-gallon cup having been presented since 1950 to the best Under-21 year old sporting motorcyclist competing under ACU or SACU jurisdiction.

In 2020 at 19 years of age Rory was the youngest ever Bennetts British SuperSport champion. In 2021 year having moved up to the fiercely competitive Bennetts British Superbike class he finished in 13th then 8th this year. He enjoys support from all in the Scottish racing community and for 2023 will join the American Racing Team in the Moto2 World Championship. The Judges were particularly impressed by his efforts in instructing and supporting young riders and helping set up track days for under-17 riders.


Rory’s response to learning that he will receive the Pinhard Trophy this year was “To be awarded with the Pinhard Trophy is a massive honour. To have my name on a trophy alongside the greats of the sport is something I am very proud of. I am grateful to everyone at the SACU for putting my name forward for this award and even though I will be abroad for a large majority of the season I look forward to attending my local club’s race meetings.”


Previously presentation was at the ACU Awards Dinner in January but this is no longer held, so he will given the award at an event venue in the early spring.

Previous winners are a list of motorcycling greats over the last 70 years who have excelled in all spheres of the sport including Mike Hailwood, Jeff Smith, Bill Martin, Roy Peplow, Dan Shorey, Scott Redding, Alexz Wigg and a host of others who have gone on to be national and international household names. Last year’s winner was Trials Rider Harry Hemingway.

Sunbeam MCC awards the trophy in memory of Frederick William Pinhard who died in 1948 whilst serving as Secretary of the Club. Judges were editors of leading motorcycle periodicals, General Secretary of the ACU, President of Sunbeam MCC and 2 officials appointed by Sunbeam MCC.     
» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Road Race
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400