The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us

2022 British Sprint Enduro Championship Rounds 1 & 2 – Race Report & Results

Wednesday April 6, 2022 at 3:26pm
2022 British Sprint Enduro Championship Rounds 1 & 2 – Race Report & Results

The British Sprint Enduro Championship finally got underway last weekend, with the opening rounds taking place for the first time at Fat Cat Motoparc near Doncaster. It was a full house with over 140 riders eager to get back on their bikes. The deep sand and ruts at Fat Cats added difficulty for the riders though, as well as the non-stop corners, jumps and whoops throughout the track.

This year, each round is completely separate, meaning that there is a podium each day. Also, the Championship, Expert and Clubman classes have been split into E1, E2 and E3. The final change to the sprint format was that the Championship class did an extra test each day at the start, which used to be a sighting lap for them.

In the Championship E1 class, the top 3 remained the same across both Saturday and Sunday. Harry Edmondson dominated to win every test of the weekend, as well as winning one overall too on Saturday! There was a battle for second place between Sam Davies and Ryan Crowder, but Sam pipped Ryan to the post by over a minute both days, pushing him into third place.

The Championship E2 class stormed the weekend and were consistently winning the tests overall. On Saturday it was Sam Winterburn who took the top step of the podium after winning seven out of the ten tests. On Sunday, Jack came back with a vengeance to clinch first place by one second overall. Tom Sagar took third place on both days, including one test win on Saturday morning.

As for the Championship E3 class, it was Alex Walton who won a huge 16 out of 18 tests across the weekend, only conceding two on Saturday. Jordan Scott took second place on both Saturday and Sunday, as did Harry Houghton in third place.

In the Exper E1 class, Sam Hughes rode brilliantly to take the win on both Saturday and Sunday. Second place, however, went to James Palmer on Saturday and Tom Shepherd on Sunday. Albert Martindale took third place both days after two consistent rides.

Expert E2 was a similar story, with Jack Teale and Kyle Lane swapping places over the two days. For Jack Teale, he placed first on Saturday and second on Sunday, whereas Kyle Lane did the opposite, going 2-1. Aaron Coupland finished out the top three both days.

In Expert E3, Ben Clark rode brilliantly to win both days! James Dabill placed second on Saturday behind Clark. Will Keenan had a great weekend going third on Saturday and second on Sunday. Sunday’s podium was finished off by David Rushton in third.

The Clubman E1 podium was the same for Rounds 1 and 2, with Cory Cookland dominating both days to win. Sion Evans was close behind in second, followed by Ollie Samways in third. Clubman E2 also saw the same top three, made up of Henry Life in first, Henry Harman in second and Thomas White in third. The Clubman E3 class also had the same podium for Rounds 1 and 2! Tommo Kirk won both days, followed closely by Joe Chambers in second and Ashley Jones in third.

It was Roan Delaney in the Youth class who won both days. Endaf Hughes also rode well to place second on Saturday and third on Sunday. Third place on Saturday went to Lewis Hurdsman, who was also in the running for a podium finish on Sunday but suffered a nasty crash midway through the day- get well soon, Lewis! Jack Sandland came back on Sunday fired up and managed to take second place.

In the Vets it was Adam Smith who won both days. Rudy Austin placed second both days and Gareth Lodge finished off the podium in third on both Saturday and Sunday too.

In the Over 50’s, Arron Crowder put in a great ride to take the class win each day. Andrew Reeves also rode well to place second on Saturday and third on Sunday, whereas David Orritt did the opposite to go 3-2.

In the Ladies class it was Leonni Tighe who dominated to win both days by over 5 minutes each day! Zoe Zembrzuski placed second both days, followed by Abbie Piggott in third each day too.

As for the Sportsman, it was Billy Austin who won both days. Jake Trawford took a well earned second place on Saturday. Kai Tinker placed third on Saturday then came back on Sunday to take second place. Third on Sunday went to Jacob Potts.

A special thank you is to be made on behalf of Paul, Jim and Tom to all of the Fast Eddy Team and all riders who have helped make this sprint series so successful already, everyone is looking forward to the rest of the 2021 season! Keep an eye on the Fast Eddy Racing Facebook group for updates and announcements!

For the Round 1 Results >>CLICK HERE<<

For the Round 2 Results >>CLICK HERE<<

Report and Images courtesy of Tilde Tighe – Foto-X

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Enduro
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400