The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us

Yates hits the triple! 2021 South Midland Centre Motocross Championship Finale

Tuesday October 26, 2021 at 2:19pm
Yates hits the triple! 2021 South Midland Centre Motocross Championship Finale

The final round of the 2021 South Midland Centre Championships took place at Long Buckby hosted by NMCC. The unpredictable weather meant track conditions were difficult to guess in advance.

Despite this the track crew once again put in weeks of hard work to ensure everything was perfect. Despite it being October it was still necessary to water the track hard on Saturday evening, before un-forecast rain showers on Sunday morning helped to finish off preparations.

In the Expert class Robert Yates took no chances, racing away to a hattrick of wins. Kyle Creevy secured second place overall by finishing ahead of third placed Thomas Allsopp in both of the afternoon races. Jordan Wills dominated both of the Junior A finals with a fine display of speed. Jamie Richmond had to be content with second each time for once, Reece Wain finished third each time ahead of George Cox. In the Junior B finals Jake Mould took the overall in what proved to be more unpredictable finishes. Nathan Kinnaird took second overall ahead of the more consistent Lee Hayward.

The NGR class saw Peter Hook run away to victory in all three legs. As the rest of the field dropped positions in at least one race, Lee Powell took second overall ahead of Tim Clark who slipped down the order in the final leg. Always popular with the spectators, the Pre 83 125 class brought out a fabulous collection of motorcycles. Robert Mead took the overall with two wins and a second place. Race two winner Jake Chamberlain finished second overall ahead of Jordan Hands. Mark Hawkins took the overall victory in the Premier O40 class, after trading wins and battling hard with Dale Phillips. Steven Chilvers took the final step on the podium.

In the always well attended Elite O50 class Anthony Leishman once again rode to a familiar overall hattrick of wins. Greg Cox rode consistently to second place each time. Shaun Brooker took third overall, as Fraser Law was side-lined with electrical issues in race one. Kevin Cole returned to racing with a fine overall victory in the Super O60 class. Vincent Wakerley took the win in the final leg on his way to second overall.

Kyle Creevy took three wins in the U40 class ahead of Reece Wain and George Elsden. George also took first overall in the 2 Stroke class that ran concurrently. Second this time was James Thompson, followed by Ian Tindle in third.

Results -

Report by Fraser Law – Images courtesy of

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Motocross
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400