The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us

Pinhard Trophy Nominations Open

Monday September 6, 2021 at 10:32am
Pinhard Trophy Nominations Open
Once again we are seeking nominations for one of the UK’s most prestigious awards – THE PINHARD TROPHY which is in the gift of Sunbeam MCC. This award has been presented since 1950 to the best Under-21 year old sporting motorcyclist competing under ACU or SACU jurisdiction.

Of course, we are living in extra-ordinary times and it is even more important to encourage and reward young talent. Under our normal rules entries are accepted from anyone who is under-21 during the subject year. This year however due to the hiatus for competitive events we will accept entries from those who were under-21 in the period since November 1st 2019. (See Rules). The Judges will be particularly interested in work done in the community during this crisis.

Last year’s winner was 19-year-old Trials Rider Alicia Robinson. Alicia’s response on learning that she will receive the Pinhard Trophy this year was "Thank you so much for selecting me to receive the Pinhard Prize. It was such a lovely surprise to find out I have won. I felt like I have worked extremely hard over the past year, both in the gym and on the bike, so to be awarded this prize makes me feel like the hard work is starting to pay off. Best wishes to the Judges and Sunbeam MCC.

I’d like to say a massive thank you to all my sponsors and family for their support to help me achieve my dreams especially during this global pandemic.”

Previous winners are an honours roll of motorcycling greats over the last 70 years who have excelled in all spheres of the sport including Mike Hailwood, Jeff Smith, Roy Peplow, Dan Shorey, Alexz Wigg, 3 Lampkin’s and a host of others who have gone on to be national and international household names.

The Trophy is a huge 3-gallon cup together with a retention replica Tankard.  Sunbeam MCC awards the trophy in memory of Frederick William Pinhard who died in 1948 whilst serving as Secretary of the Club.

All sections of the ACU together with the Scottish-ACU are invited to submit entries as well as anyone who feels personally eligible to put a candidate forward. Entries can be for active competitors or administrators. Closing date is November 1st 2021.

Editors of leading motorcycle periodicals are invited as judges together with the General Secretary of the ACU and three officials appointed by Sunbeam MCC.

Entry Forms, Regulations and a List of Previous Winners are available from Sunbeam’s website or Trustee for the Trophy, Tony Lloyd who can be contacted on or 07751300233

Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400