The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us

ACU British Masters Heads to Swingfield this Sunday

Thursday September 9, 2021 at 11:58am
ACU British Masters Heads to Swingfield this Sunday
ASTRA Grasstrack Club will be hosting the ACU British Masters Grasstrack Final this Sunday at the Swingfield venue near Folkestone in Kent.

James Shanes (500cc Champion) and Gareth Winterburn and Liam Brown (1000cc Sidecar) will be putting their respective Solo and Sidecar crowns on the line as the British Masters returns. The 2020 event was cancelled due to Covid 19, but the biggest domestic prizes are once again up for grabs at the Swingfield circuit.

The ASTRA club are pleased to announce that Kite Haulage Ltd will be the main sponsors of the blue riband event in the grasstrack season and the meeting will also incorporate the Alan Kite Memorial trophy in memory of the former grasstrack and speedway rider, who was a huge supporter of ASTRA Grasstrack Club. The sponsors commented "Bradley and Joanne Kite of Kite Haulage Ltd are proud to be sponsoring the 2021 Astra British Masters Grasstrack championship incorporating the Alan Kite memorial trophy in memory of Bradley's late father who was an ex-rider and heavily involved in the sport for many years".

Come and see the best solo and sidecar grasstrack riders battle it to be crowned British champion for 2021. The spectacular action will see riders hit speeds of over 75mph and their skill and bravery will take your breath away!

Swingfield, nr Folkestone - CT15 7HF

Practice 11am, First Race 1pm

Adults £18, senior citizens and 12-16 children £15, U12 free - There is no advanced ticket system - it is pay on the gate and CASH ONLY.

Camping is £3 per person as a one-off fee - not per night

Full access to the pits to see riders and equipment

There is a beer tent/disco on the Saturday night, but catering won't be available until Sunday morning.


Line up can be found below

500cc Solo’s


2 Tim Nobes

6 Edward Kennett

9 Mitchel Godden

10 Tony Atkin

11 Paul Cooper

12 Daniel Winterton

14 Rodney McDonald

15 Martyn Sturgeon

17 Gareth Hickmott

19 Dave Mears

20 Arran Butcher

24 Adam Filmer

26 Luke Harris

37 Chris Harris

41 Stuart Mears

45 James Peters

72 Jake Mulford

83 Liam Ashcroft

86 Paul Hurry

92 Charley Powell

93 James Shanes

109 Zach Wajtknecht

114 Tommy Rowlett

169 Chad Wirtzfeld



71 Nigel Coates


1000cc Sidecars


10 Clint Blondell

Jordan Smith

12 Neal Owen

Jason Farwell

13 Joseph Sturtridge

Shaun Hoskin

15 Matthew Fumarola

Andrew Wilson

16 Simon Heal

Tom Smith

22 Will Penfold

Ricky Pay

24 Rob Wilson

Alan Elliott

25 Colin Blackbourn

Carl Pugh

29 Tom Cossar

Wayne Rickards

37 Mark Cossar

Gareth Williams

49 Gareth Winterburn

Liam Brown

69 Thomas Newton

Dillon Newton

78 Kieran Hicks

Kieron Ivy

92 Paul Whitelam

Richard Webb

98 Joe Mogg

Jake Cutler

183 Ian Lee-Amies

Paul Phillips

191 Trevor Heath

Sam Heath

778 Anthony Sales

Steve Russell



33 Tom Marvell

Lewis Davies

76 Simon Beaney

Nicky Owen

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Track Racing
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400