The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us

Nora MX Championship – Round 1 - Grittenham Report

Tuesday April 20, 2021 at 4:21pm
Nora MX Championship – Round 1 - Grittenham Report

The first round of the Nora MX Championship was hosted by the Nora MX team at the Grittenham track near Chippenham in Wiltshire.

Now lockdown is easing it has been possible to host COVID secure events with no spectators, although riders and mechanics are allowed to bring their family bubbles, with social distancing in place.

National restrictions meant racing had stopped across the UK, and this is the first Nora MX championship event of 2021. There was a huge amount of support with six quad groups and one sidecar group, although many of these groups were further split into sub-groups within the races.

The day was well organised and ran smoothly.

The sidecar group was split into two, with GP riders starting first followed by the remaining teams, thus giving two races in one.

In the Sidecar GP Class current British Champions Stuart Brown / Josh Chamberlain won all three races but did battle throughout the day with the other GP Teams. Stuart’s son Jake Brown with passenger Joe Millard were second in two races, with Dan Foden / Nathan Cooper and George Kinge / Steve Kirwin close behind.

The main Sidecar class was dominated by Sam Osbaldiston / Harley Lloyd who took three good wins but they did have to work for it. In race one they held a good fifth in the first few laps, but fought hard to get ahead, battling hard to stay ahead of Jack Etheridge / Lewis Gray with Tony Grahame/ Liam Hodges in third just ahead of Tilo Maguire/ Toby Hutchins. Ross Bowers/ Dan Phelps were on a charge, moving ahead in the final few laps, but the red flag on the final lap meant they were credited with the position on the lap before, but still a great effort. In race two Tony Grahame/ Liam Hodges held an initial advantage, but Sam Osbaldiston / Harley Lloyd fought back to take the win. In the final race they left nothing to chance leading from the start Tony Grahame/ Liam Hodges took a close second from Jack Etheridge / Lewis Gray with Ross Bowers/ Dan Phelps fourth.

In the quad class there were Six groups:

- Pro / Pro Am

- Clubman Elite / Masters A

- Clubman / Masters B

- Intermediates and Ladies

- 250cc Open and Air Cooled

- 100cc Geared, 50cc Auto, 100cc Auto

The Pro races were fast a furious with Harry Walker taking two of the three wins with great battles throughout. In race one Dafydd Davies took the initial lead from Mark McLernon, with Harry Walker having to battle up from seventh, he had Dafydd Davies in sight but didn’t find a way past. Mark McLernon took third ahead of Dean Dillon in fourth with George Day fifth. In race two Harry Walker lead from the start with George Day second until Mark McLernon blasted past, Dafydd Davies was on form again taking fourth. In the final race of the day it was James Bevan who took the lead into the first bend, Mark McLernon held second from George Day. Harry Walker was outside the top five, but has the leaders in his sights within the first few laps, and by the mid-way point he was closing on James Bevan who picked up problems and was left track side, Harry Walker took the win just ahead of George Day and Dean Dillon. In the Pro Am class Alfie Walker had a consistent day with a win and two seconds to take the overall win on the day.

Clubman Elite raced with the Masters A group and the races were well attended with forty riders. They were dominated by Luke Berlyn who took three great wins, and lead from the start. In race one Zak Beevers held second with Danny Smith third and Sonney Ward fighting through to take fourth. In race two Luke Berlyn held the lead throughout with the battle behind for second, and despite close battles Zak Beevers held second again with Danny Smith third and Sonney Ward fourth. In the final race of the day Danny Smith was determined and took second behind Luke Berlyn. Ex-sidecar passenger Dan Chamberlain had a great start taking an initial third with Zak Beevers fighting past in the final few laps.

Clubman raced with the Masters B in another large group of 35 quads. This class was well fought with a different winner in each race. In race one Lewis Painter took the win from Luke Brown with Connor Paxton third. Luke Brown took second again in the next race just behind Michael Williams with Tom Bainbridge third, and in the final race of the day Tom Bainbridge took the wind with Michael Williams a close second ahead of Harry Koller.

The Nora MX championship is a ten round Quad Championship, Sidecars will also be invited to seven of those rounds.

🔹 April 18th- Round 1 - Grittenham  

🔹 May 2nd & 3rd - Round 2 & 3 - Brookthorpe MX

🔹 May 16th - Round 4 - West Meon

🔹 June 13th - Round 5 - Cusses Gorse

🔹 July 4th - Round 6 - Sellindge MX

🔹 July 31st & August 1st - Round 7 & 8 - Little Silver MX

🔹 September 19th - Round 9 - Wroxton

🔹 October 10th - Round 10 - West Meon


RESULTS: Nora MX Quad & Sidecar, Nora-Mx Quad Racing, United Kingdom - Official Event Results, MYLAPS Speedhive


» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Motocross
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400