The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us
[Read the current ACU COVID-19 Statement here]
Due to the current health crisis our offices will be at minimum manning. To avoid any unnecessary contact, we ask that if you have a query, or need to contact us for any reason, please email and it will be forwarded to the relevant department for their attention. We are not accepting visitors without an appointment to keep the office Covid-19 Secure.

New Format for Stars at Darley

Tuesday December 3, 2019 at 4:21pm
New Format for Stars at Darley
The Darley Moor Motor Cycle Road Race Club are setting their sights on a very special season next year when the now traditional season finale reaches an impressive milestone. Whilst it will be 55years since the Club held it’s very first motor cycle road race meeting on 5th April 1965, the final meeting of the season, the ‘Stars at Darley’ or as it was in the early days ‘Return of the Stars to Darley’, will be celebrating 50 years. Sadly, Percy Tait, the very first winner of the trophy in October 1970, has only recently passed away.

Up until now very little had changed throughout the years; two x 10 lap ‘Stars’ races held alongside the final round of the Club’s Championship classes. However, after liaising with Club sponsors, competitors (both Stars and Club regulars) and officials Don Ryder, Chairman of the Darley Moor Motor Cycle Road Race Club is delighted to ‘unveil’ the exciting new format for the 2020 season finale. From next season the ‘Stars at Darley’ will become a two-day event, with practice and racing on both days.

Saturday: a full timed qualifying session for the Club races, plus an untimed ‘Stars’ session. After lunch break there will be a timed qualifying session for the “Stars” followed by a full round of the Club Championship programme with a new 15 lap ‘Stars at Darley’, Race 1.

Sunday: an un-timed morning Warm-up for the ‘Stars’, then slightly longer Club Championship races in the afternoon, with a 15 Lap ‘Stars at Darley’, Race 2 planned for 3.00 pm. The combined result of the two “Stars at Darley” races will give the overall result. Time will be allocated after this second ‘Stars’ race for the winners to proceed on a lap of honour for the fans. There will no longer be double points awarded for the Championship classes at this final round.

Don Ryder, Chairman of the Darley Moor Club since 1965 is quoted “The Committee have considered many suggestions before agreeing to this new and very different approach to our now traditional “Stars at Darley” meeting and we all hope there is something in it for everyone. Our traditional “Stars at Darley” sponsors have fully endorsed the new format.”

This new format does not mean extra expense for the loyal Club competitors either as the Darley Moor Club are pleased to announce that they have reduced the Entry Fees for the two days. For Solo competitors the two-day fee for the first class will be reduced to £240 and for Sidecar crews to £260. Additional class fees will remain the same for the weekend.

On-line entries for both Club Membership, Race Entries, spectator Season passes etc are all available at the website  

Dates for the 2020 season are as follows, kicking off with the usual Saturday Practice Day prior to Round 1;

Sat 28th March Test Day Darley Moor MCRRC

Sun 29th March Round 1 Darley Moor MCRRC (Incl. Round 1 Curtis Milner Trophy)

Sat 2nd May Round 2 Darley Moor MCRRC (Incl. Round 2 of the Curtis Milner Trophy and Thunderfest 2020)

Sun 14th June Round 3 Darley Moor MCRRC

Sat 11th July Test Day Darley Moor MCRRC

Sun 12th July Round 4 Darley Moor MCRRC

Sun 13th September Round 5 Darley Moor MCRRC

Sat 10th October Round 6 Darley Moor MCRRC (Incl. Stars at Darley 2020)

Sun 11th October Round 7 Darley Moor MCRRC (Incl. Stars at Darley 2020 and Jake Hingley Trophy)

There has been a slight update to the Championship classes for next season and whilst the Sound of Thunder class has been dropped there is a new class for twin cylinder machines which allows the new Aprilia 660 and Yamaha MT-07 models. Please see below for a full list of championship classes.

Championship Classes 2020

1A Junior Championship for Formula 125, Ninja 300 and restricted 450cc Aprilia max age 18 years.

1B Senior Championship as above but aged over 18 years

2 Classic & Forgotten Era Class up to 250cc to CRMC or Forgotten Era Eligibility Rules

Classic & Forgotten Era Class 251 t0 500cc to CRMC or Forgotten Era Eligibility Rules

Classic & Forgotten Era Class 501 to 1300cc to CRMC or Forgotten Era Eligibility Rules

3 Lightweight Class up to 400cc 4 strokes and 250cc 2 strokes open tyres

4 Honda CB 500 and Suzuki Bandit 600 Class

5 Formula 600 class including 750cc triples.

6 Pre - Electronic Injection class up to 600cc & 750cc twins

7 Twin Cylinder up to 700cc 4 stroke twin Cylinder and 830cc Air cooled 2 strokes. No over-bores or big bore engines permitted

8 Open Solos up to 750cc 2 strokes and up to 1300cc 4 strokes with separate Class awards for Pre-injection class NO FORMULA 600

9 Peak Cup any solo machine up to 750cc two stroke or 1300cc four stroke.

10 The Allcomers Cup for any machine up to 650cc twin cylinder four strokes entered in any of the above classes. (No 600cc machines)

11 The Allcomers cup for 600cc and open class machines, entered in any of the above classes.

(Classes 10 & 11 will be held after practice and will be one race of 10 laps for each class.)

12a Open sidecars for any sidecar to 1300cc four stroke and 750cc two stroke. This class will include the Triumph 675cc TT class.

12b. Formula 600 Sidecars – complying with ACU Formula 600 Sidecar specifications.

The onus of eligibility for all classes rests with the rider.

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Road Race
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400