The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us
Due to the current health crisis our offices are closed until further notice. If you have a query, or need to contact us for any reason, please email and it will be forwarded to the relevant department. We will post further information and updates here as they become available.

Nora-Mx Celebrates With Packed Grids at Season Finale

Wednesday July 10, 2019 at 3:59pm
Nora-Mx Celebrates With Packed Grids at Season Finale
No fewer than 134 riders enjoyed a sun-drenched end to the Nora-MX club’s 2019 season. Whilst the Pro and Pro Am class winners were determined at the previous Nora-MX event, there was still much to play for across the remaining groups, thus ensuring the racing battles continued throughout until the final chequered flag fell.


[image1]All Nora-MX competitors were awarded an additional 100 points for starting the first race of the last round, thereby, rewarding those who supported the club right to the very end.


The Clubman championship was won by Gary Atkinson, who proved the value of never giving up. He began the season with a catalogue of disasters, taking zero points from the opening round, to win the series by five points ahead of Thomas Yates. He won the first and second motos, with Adult-racing newbie Alfie Walker winning the final race, to take second overall ahead of Lewis Rowles, who also finished third in the championship.


The 250 overall went to Luke Berlyn with a second and two wins. Robbie Wood, who has dominated this class this year, won the first race and finished second overall on the day, but his season-long form ensured he lifted the class crown by 43 points over Berlyn with Chad Beevers in third.


Ed Davies once again stamped his considerable mark on the Masters with a maximum three wins and the championship title. Jonathan McKnight, who has kept him ‘honest’ all year finished in an uncustomary fourth overall after a last race incident which saw go from second off the line right to very last and then claw his way back to 10th. His pervious solid performances were enough to secure him the championship runners-up position, with Greg Fisher third.


The combined Novice and Ladies class saw Catrin Davies take the overall win in both classes with a full house of points in the Ladies over Georgia Lent and Shelley Smart, but she didn’t have it all her own way in the individual Novice races. Iestyn Rees took a flag-to-flag win in the first race, with Davies and Reece Swann second and third, and it was a repeat result in the second moto where Swann worked his way through from mid-pack. Davies was back out in front for the final race though, with Swann second and Roach third – on track. The overall Novice championship was won by Davies with Smart second and Roach third.


In the 100cc class, Alfie North was unbeatable in all three races and took the championship second, with second-on-the-day Connor Yates taking the series win. Frank Marston rounded out the podium in both the overall and championship.


In a great display of ‘girls do rule’, Ella Robe won the 50cc category with a second and two wins, with championship winner Harriet Mews taking the other win and two seconds. Robe finished the season as 50cc vice champion with Malaky McKenna, who has had his fair share of bad luck this year, in third.




1. Gary Atkinson 217       , 2. Alfie Walker 212, 3. Lewis Rowles 207



1. Luke Berlyn 217, 2. Robbie Wood 210, 3. Josh Talent 199



1. Ed Davies 220, 2. Greg Fisher 207, 3. Darren Bridge 201



1. Catrin Davies 214, 2. Reece Swann 207, 3. Iestyn Rees 204



1. Catrin Davies 220, 2. Georgia Lent 209, 3. Shelley Smart 207



1. Alfie North 220, 2. Connor Yates 209, 3. Frank Marston 207



1. Ella Robe 217, 2. Harriet Mewse 214, 3. Morgan Humphreys 201





1. Mark McLernon 560, 2. George Day 500, 3. Dafydd Davies 444, 4. George Callaway 440, 5. Tom Day 406, 6. Harry Walker 401



1. Gary Atkinson 786, 2. Thomas Yates 781, 3. Lewis Rowles 743



1. Robbie Wood 894, 2. Luke Verlyn 851, 3. Chad Beevers 777



1. Ed Davies 888, 2. Johnathan McKnight 828, 3. Greg Fisher 804



1. Catrin Davies 881, 2. Shelley Smart 724, 3. Gavin Roach 712



1. Catrin Davies 934, 2. Shelley Smart 841, 3. Georgia Lent 827



1. Connor Yates 886, 2. Alfie North 846, 3. Frank Marston 835



1. Harriet Mews 853, 2. Ella Robe 826, 3. Malaky McKenna 768



Photography: John Cook


» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Motocross
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400