The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us
Due to the current health crisis our offices are closed until further notice. If you have a query, or need to contact us for any reason, please email and it will be forwarded to the relevant department. We will post further information and updates here as they become available.

Local Riders Star at Darley Moor This Sunday

Monday June 10, 2019 at 3:06pm
Local Riders Star at Darley Moor This Sunday
After 6 weeks since the last round the Darley Moor Motor Cycle Road Race Club prepare for action once more as Round 3 beckons this coming weekend on Sunday 16th June 2019 at the Darley Moor Motorsports Centre near Ashbourne (DE6 2ET).

A quick glance down the Championship listings show that there are a few local riders challenging for the lead in several classes, but also for the first time a female competitor is heading the table in one of the championships. Katie Hand (Cabourne) leads two riders equal on points in 2nd place, by just 4points, another female competitor Scarlett Robinson (New Mills) and James Bull (Southampton).

Two championships have a tie at the head of the table between two riders/teams; the Sound of Thunder class has Matt Zschiesche (Stoke on Trent) and Rich Baker (Crewe) with Zach Tansley (Derby) a further 8 points adrift. Onto three wheels and the Formula 600 Sidecar class is even closer with Steven Pawley/David Hammond (Rochdale/West Houghton) trailing the two leaders, Allan Schoefield/Steve Thomas (Wirral/Birkenhead) and Gary Knight/Dan Evanson (Macclesfield/Crewe), by just 3 points. Zschiesche and Baker are also battling at the head of the Formula 600 class, although Baker holds a six-point advantage over Zschiesche.

Four points is the difference at the head of the table in another two championships: Anthony Froggatt (Worksop) heading the Pre-Injection class from Adam Walters (Derby) whilst Simon Hart (Bexley Heath) leads Freddie Simcox (Newark) in the Senior Championship.

In addition to the Formula 600 Championship, several other classes also have a six-point advantage at the head of the table, again with plenty of local competitors involved at the head of the table. Graham Oakley (Chesterfield) holds the top position in the Classic & Forgotten Era up to 250cc class. Richard Stott (Shepshed) has the deficit to reduce in the Classic & Forgotten Era up to 500cc class, and Richard Eglin (Derby) is in the same position in the Open Solo class, whilst David Carson (Northwich) holds the advantage at the top of the Mini Sound of Thunder class.

Ash Stone (Matlock) enjoys a seven-point advantage over Josh Daley (Wigan) in the Peak Cup class. James Ford (Whaley Bridge) holds an eight-point lead in the Lightweight class and Mark Brailsford (Chesterfield) leads Liam Clements (Newcastle under Lyme) by ten points in the CB500 class.

Tim Walsh (Buxton) and Steve Price (Cheadle) are tying on points in the Pre-Electronic 600 & 750 Twin Championship, currently joint 2nd, 12 points from the head of the table.

Roy Tansley (Derby) and his French passenger, Freddy Lelubez hold a twelve-point advantage over the 2018 Champion Anthony Eades and new passenger Lewis Kemp (Hyde/Hyde) in the Open Sidecar class.

Finally, David Bradley (Matlock) enjoys the healthiest advantage after just 2 Rounds, holding a thirteen-point lead over Geoff Martin in the Classic & Forgotten Era 501cc – 1300cc class.

Having been sitting here writing this as the rain was coming down, ‘weather warnings’ predicted during the earlier part of the week, but the weather apps are predicting that Sunday will stick to its name and be a sunny day, so a chance to get out in it. Just head to the Darley Moor Motorsports Centre where the action begins with Practice at 10am and the first race scheduled for 11.30am.

The cost of adult admission to Darley Moor for all meetings, except the end of season Stars at Darley meeting, is £13.00 per day, accompanied children under 16 are free, and Senior Citizens are £9.00. Parking and Paddock

Transfer is free and a programme costs just £3.00. Adult admission to the Test Days on 6th April 13th July and 12th October is £6.00, Senior Citizens 65 and over £4.00.

For the Stars at Darley event on 13th October the adult admission price is £16.00 and Senior Citizens £10.00.

Advance Tickets at discount prices are also available on-line just visit the Darley Race Shop for full details -  

There is ample room for spectators to camp and caravan at Darley Moor over the race weekends. The cost is £6.00 per unit per night. Camping will normally be available from 2.00 pm on the Friday evening until 12.00 noon on the day after the meeting or by special arrangement with the circuit management – Call 01335 343833.

Darley Moor is one of the few circuits in which dogs are welcome, provided they are always kept on a lead during race day and the owners act in a responsible manner.

2019 Championships (After Round 2)

Junior Championship

1st Katie Hand, 20pts; 2nd James Bull, 16pts; 3rd Scarlett Robinson, 16pts

Senior Championship

1st Simon Hart, 16pts; 2nd Freddie Simcox, 12pts

Classic & Forgotten Era up to 250cc

1st Graham Oakley, 28pts; 2nd Glenn Atkinson, 22pts; 3rd Daniel Pritchard, 15pts

Classic & Forgotten Era 251cc to 500cc

1st Mike Lees, 22pts; 2nd Richard Stott, 16pts; 3rd Dave McCoy, 16pts;

Classic & Forgotten Era 501cc – 1300cc

1st David Bradley, 28pts; 2nd Geoff Martin, 15pts; 3rd Jamie O’Brien, 10pts

Lightweight Championship

1st James Ford, 28pts; 2nd Tony Griffiths, 20pts; 3rd Chris Moore, 16pts

Honda CB500 & Suzuki Bandit Championship

1st Mark Brailsford, 32pts; 2nd Liam Clements 22pts; 3rd John Lester, 14pts

Formula 600 Championship

1st Rich Baker, 24pts; 2nd Matt Zschiesche, 18pts; 3rd Dave Carson, 16pts

Pre-electronic 600cc & 750cc Twin Championship

1st Stuart Bradbury, 28pts; 2nd Tim Walsh, 16pts; 3rd Steve Price, 16pts

Mini Sound of Thunder Championship

1st Dave Carson, 28pts; 2nd Richard Saville, 22pts; 3rd Daley Mathison, 16pts

Open Solo

1st Richard Charlton, 24pts; 2nd Richard Eglin, 18pts; 3rd Daley Mathison, 16pts


1st Anthony Froggatt, 30pts; 2nd Adam Walters, 26pts; 3rd Andrew Boulton, 18pts

Sound of Thunder

1st Matt Zschiesche, 28pts; 2nd Rich Baker, 28pts; 3rd Zach Tansley, 20pts

Peak Cup

1st Ash Stone, 23pts; 2nd Josh Daley, 16pts; 3rd Daley Mathison, 12pts

Open Sidecar

1st Roy Tansley/Freddy Lelubez, 32pts; 2nd Anthony Eades/Lewis Kemp, 20pts; 3rd Keith Waddington/Mick Storey, 18pts

Formula 600 Sidecar

1st Allan Schoefield/Steve Thomas, 16pts; 2nd Gary Knight/Dan Evanson, 16pts; 3rd Steven Pawley/David Hammond, 13pts

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Road Race
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400