The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us
Due to the current health crisis our offices are closed until further notice. If you have a query, or need to contact us for any reason, please email and it will be forwarded to the relevant department. We will post further information and updates here as they become available.

Dawson Stars at East Midland Racing Association Championship

Tuesday June 11, 2019 at 10:43am
Dawson Stars at East Midland Racing Association Championship
Louis Dawson was the star of the East Midland Racing Association championship meeting at Mallory Park on Sunday, winning three of his four races on his 1000cc Aprilia. The first Buildbase Mallory Trophy was a very close battle between Dawson and Lee Wilson with the Aprilia staying just ahead of Wilson’s BMW until the ninth lap when Louis was able to get past a back marker quicker than Lee, and the gap opened from a tenth of a second to a second and a half. Behind these two Barry Burrell gradually overhauled George Stanley to grab third place.   The second Buildbase race was a three-way scrap for most of the race, George Stanley holding off Louis Dawson and Barry Burrell for the first half of the race, then Dawson taking over for a couple of laps until Stanley set the fastest lap of the day at 52.5 seconds to regain the lead on lap nine and open up a gap before the end.

The first of the Tamworth Yamaha Allcomers races saw Michael Austin lead in the early stages, but once Dawson and Burrell had got by, they scrapped all the way to the flag, Dawson taking the win by an eighth of a second.  In the second Dawson gradually edged away from the battle between Austin and Mikey Leeson to finish four seconds clear.

The first of the James Dixon Trophy races was a fairly comfortable win for Luke Burnett, while Aran Sadler recovered from ninth place on lap one to catch and finally pass Rich Baker for second place. The second race was led by Sadler for the first five laps until Baker took over at the front and just succeeded in holding off Sadler with Burnett holding on to third. Burnett rounded off a very successful day by winning both Rookie races quite convincingly.

Darren Conneely won the first of the Bridgestone Fast Bikes 500 events holding first place all the way, but the gap to Darren Faulkner was less than a second at the end while Josh Langman, Martin Radford and Wayne Sutton were all close behind. In the second race Darren Faulkner led from the start and when Martin Bazely fell at Edwina’s while at the head of the pursuing pack, Faulner was able to get away. Behind him a pack of four riders. Martin Radford, Robert Carver,Shay Commins and Scott Gregg came past in a different order every lap, finishing in the order above.  Race three was another win for Conneely with last year’s champion Wayne Sutton in second place.

 The same riders had two more races in the 500 twins class and Faulkner won the first of these under surveillance all the way from Wayne Sutton while Conneely worked his way through the field from thirteenth place on lap one to grab third on the final lap. The second of these saw Conneely win after being pursued all race by Faulkner and Sutton.

Having recruited a collection of female racers to boost the entry in the 125-450 class, Jodie Fieldhouse ran away from the field as she usually does with Lewis Jones coming second in race one ahead of Ash Barnes and Chloe Jones while Lewis Jones didn’t finish race two and Ash Barnes and Chloe Jones took second and third while Kim Rose won the 125 class in both races.

Steve Brittain kept up his 100% record in the pre-injection class while Michael Ess ran away with the Earlystock races

On three wheels Thomas Graves and Paul Kirby won the first WAS Autocentre race while Simon Robinson & Phil Gravel scrapped with Kirkup and Brown throughout for second spot ahead of Sean Hegarty, whose new outfit had barely completed a lap in qualifying. The second race was equally entertaining until Christie and Kirkup collided at the exit of Gerards causing the race to be stopped. The restart was a three lap sprint won by Robinson from Graves with Hegarty, who had been leading the race before it was stopped, taking third place.

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Road Race
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400