The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us
Due to the current health crisis our offices are closed until further notice. If you have a query, or need to contact us for any reason, please email and it will be forwarded to the relevant department. We will post further information and updates here as they become available.

Point-S Motocross Championship Heads to Cornwall For Round 2

Tuesday May 7, 2019 at 11:54am
Point-S Motocross Championship Heads to Cornwall For Round 2
This Sunday Round 2 of the POINT-S South West Masters Motocross Championships resumes down in the heart of Cornwall at Newquay Moto Parc, which is a new venue to many and is sure to catch a few out.


Todd Kellett leads the Expert Championship after the opening round by 11 points, but this for sure will change as he is a nonstarter due to other commitments and looking to take over the Championship lead will be former South West Champion Luke Hawkins (Pictured No 8) from Radstock who currently sits in second in the Standings, but there is many more who will be in attendance like Kelvin Townsend, Tom Moore who makes the trip down from Oxfordshire, Rob Cross, Ross Parkinson, Ross Kersey and Jamie Skuse another Champion from a couple of years ago from Calne in Wiltshire who will be looking to score in both races rather than one like he did at the opening round due to a puncture plus many others.


In the Junior Championship class it is Cornish youngster Daniel Wade from St Austell who will have plenty of local support who heads the proceedings by two points from Kieran Yorke, but as with the opening round all could change as lining up with them will be the likes of Maverick Smith, Harry Day, Ben Gibbons, Thomas Townrow, Harry Mitchell and young Jason Down from Totnes in Devon to name a few.  


In the Over 35 Class it will be former Champion Wayne Shimell from Newton Abbot who will be looking to extend his 11 point Championship lead over Shepton Mallett rider Daren Banwell who has just a two points advantage over James Kensington on the 2-Stroke, with other riders including the fast gating Ben Harmon, Peter Bulley, Jon Morrissey, Luke Dewey plus many others, whereas in the Over 45’s Championship it’s Leigh Williams (Pictured No 57) from Bridgwater who goes in to the second round with Maximum points and heads the proceedings by nine points from Exeter’s David Ford, but they will have to be at their best as lining up with them will be the likes of David Shipton, Richard Tapscott, Dean Davies and many others.


Newquay Moto Parc is an excellent viewing track with easy parking with the first race at 10-30am. (Postcode TR8 4LY)


There are still spaces available via the ACU Website or Phone Mel on 01626 365335


» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Motocross
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400