The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us
Due to the current health crisis our offices are closed until further notice. If you have a query, or need to contact us for any reason, please email and it will be forwarded to the relevant department. We will post further information and updates here as they become available.

Great day at the Bob Collier Trophy - South Midland Championship Round 3

Friday May 17, 2019 at 9:03am
Great day at the Bob Collier Trophy - South Midland Championship Round 3
Following a week of fairly inclement weather the Long Buckby track was in excellent condition. The club workers team had done an excellent job on the track. With hardly any standing water, the rain had soaked in and kept the dust under control all day making for some excellent racing and high grip levels.

The expert class saw Robert Wood taking two wins and a second for the overall. Paul Burn was in close attendance all day long taking two runner up places and the win in the third moto. Glen Bixby had a consistent day running 3-3-4 for third overall. Fourth place went to Kyle Creevy.

Junior A was run over a qualifying heat and two finals with Etham Etheridge winning both motos. Second place went to Tim Soane taking runner up in both motos. Callum Sedgewick taking 3third overall from Justin Carter in fourth.

Junior B again over two motos was won by Kyle O’Flynn from Ben Nye in second.

Again the Vets class is proving to be very popular with a good entry in the 0ver 40, 50 and 60.

Premier Over 40 saw Paul Moore on a really good day taking maximum points in all motos. Lee Keyton had a consistent day with 3 second places. John Barnes coming in third overall followed by Rupert Fairclough in fourth.

In the Elite Over 50 it was an excellent day for club stalwart Fraser Law taking all three wins. A fast charging Bruce Garside was hot on his tail and looking silky smooth all day taking second overall. Chris Koch took third and Steve Bottoms fourth overall.

Super Over 60’s again a good entry proving age is no barrier. I don’t think any other modern over 60’s class exists in the UK. Hats off to the South Midland clubs for going with it. it’s a class that seems to be gaining riders and growing.

The ever green Nigel Miller took all three wins. Fast charging Reg Willis took the runner up spot from Steve Hollins, Andy Sturt coming home in fourth overall.

In the Under 40 class, first overall went to Cameron Curtis, with Aaron Read in second. Tom King finished third from Alexander Churchill in fourth. Adam Ford took two wins but dropped a result in race two which saw him finish well down the field. The other win went to Cameron Curtis.

Two Stroke class had a smaller entry with Alexander Churchill winning all three races from Gary West, who took third in all three races for second overall. Third place went to Ian Tindle.


The Eastern Evo class was again a full field. This series is proving very popular and a welcome addition to Northampton MCC. The depth of field and quality of riders is outstanding. If you ever think guys on 30 year old bikes are slow and prone to mechanical problems think again. The guys running at front are blisteringly fast, lap times consistent with the modern experts. Bradley Tomlin went 1-2-1 for the overall. Brett Fisher going 2-3-2 for second. Alexander Hornsby finished third with Glen Bixby in fourth.


Expert: 1 Robert Wood.  2 Paul Burn, 3 Glenn Bixby, 4 Kyle Creevy, 5 Lewis Huckerby, 6 Connor Dickens

Junior A: 1Etham Etheridge, 2Tim Soane, 3 Callum Sedgewick, 4 Justin Carter, 5 Adam Ford, 6 Brett Wykes

Junior B: 1 Kye O’Flynn, 2 Ben Nye, 3 Kevin Turnbull, 4 Ty Atkins, 5 Lee Hayward, 6 Thomas Knight

Eastern Evo: 1Bradley Tomlin, 2 Brett Fisher, 3 Alexander Hornsby,  4 Glen Bixby, 5 Jason Morettes, 6 Christopher Thorpe

Premier O40: 1 Paul Moore, 2 Lee Keyton, 3 John Barnes, 4 Rupert Fairclough, 5 Tony Fricker, 6 Scott Robinson

Elite O50: 1 Fraser Law, 2 Bruce Garside, 3 Chris Koch, 4 Steve Bottoms, 5 Stephen Gilbey, 6 Patrick Winter

Super O60: 1 Nigel Miller, 2 Reg Willis, 3 Stephen Hollins, 4 Andy Sturt, 5 Stephen Morgan, 6 Roger Knibbs

Under 40: 1 Cameron Curtis, 2 Aaron Read, 3 Tom King, 4 Alexander Churchill, 5 Sean Kettlewell, 6 Ian Tindle

2 Stroke: 1 Alexander Churchill, 2 Garry West, 3 Ian Tindle, 4 Nathan Skinner, 5 Thomas Bratton, 6 Ashley Batten

Workers race: 1 Steve Chilvers, 2 Ashley Batten, 3 Ian Thompson, 4 Stephen Hollins, 5 Luke Twelvetree

Report: Andrew Sturt


» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Motocross
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400