The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us
Due to the current health crisis our offices are closed until further notice. If you have a query, or need to contact us for any reason, please email and it will be forwarded to the relevant department. We will post further information and updates here as they become available.

Great Racing at Second round of the 2019 Tribal – MX British Clubmans Sidecar Championship

Tuesday May 7, 2019 at 3:38pm
Great Racing at Second round of the 2019 Tribal – MX British Clubmans Sidecar Championship
The second round of the 2019 Tribal – MX British Clubmans championships was held on bank holiday Monday at the Wattisfield circuit hosted by the Diss MCC. Despite have had virtually no rain for at least six weeks the club had done an excellent job in track preparation laying down enough water to ensure no dust at all during the twelve-race programme.


In addition to the twenty-eight entries from registered riders the club had also received wild card entries from Shaun Mallows / Tony Grahame and Dave Keane / Paul Horton both mounted on beautifully prepared twin cylinder Yamaha WASPs from a time before anyone had fitted a two stroke motor into a sidecar.


After the first round held at Wooley Grange three weeks ago the championship was led by Moss / Henderson and Goodall / Hodges both on sixty five points but at last weekend’s meeting at Milton Malsor Goodall was injured. Even so the injury was not bad enough to keep him away.

In timed practice Connor / Kinge posted the fastest time ahead of Peters / Wilkinson and Moss in third place.


When the gate dropped for race one Georges / Simpson just made the holeshot from Maguire / Thomas who were on the outside line ahead of Moss. Maguire was passed by Moss, Whitt / Whitt and Rutherford / Browne on lap one. Moss took the lead on lap two with Georges holding second place. These five held their positions for the next three laps until on lap five the race was red flagged because of a nasty accident involving Ferryman / Newberry.


In race two Maguire took the holeshot from Goodall and Connor / Kinge. Connor dropped back to sixth place while Georges having started badly moved from seventh to near the front. Just before half distance he took the lead with Maguire dropping to second and Goodall third. Connor at this stage was in fifth. On the next lap the leading group started to catch tail enders and with just over one lap to go the order changed. Georges took the win from Connor with Maguire third and Rutherford fourth. Moss who was down in twelfth on lap one came home in sixth.


The final race of the day Moss led into turn one and never looked back finally taking the win by nearly thirty seconds. Maguire was second initially but on lap four dropped to fourth being passed by Whitt and Georges. The leading group stayed in these positions to the flag.


Georges took the overall win from Moss with Whitt third. Moss now leads the championship by five points from Georges with Whitt in third. The next round is at Owslebury on 19th May.

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Motocross
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400