The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us

Sun Shone on Culham for the British Youth Motocross Championship Season Opener

Monday April 1, 2019 at 3:10pm
Sun Shone on Culham for the British Youth Motocross Championship Season Opener
The Judd KTM British Youth Championship season opener was at Culham MX Park in Oxfordshire next to the River Thames over the weekend (March 30 and 31) where Robbie Daly, Max Harris, Finley Evans, Charlie Heyman, Preston Williams and Dominic Lancett took the honours in their respective British Youth Championship classes.
In the all new British Rookie Championships in the Auto to Open class, where those competing in each category for the first season are awarded points for a separate series to recognise their achievements aside of the main class they are racing in, Brian Gyles, Noah Eastwood, Will Haddock, Bailey Johnston, Louie Kessell and Max Ingham were the overall winners.
In the smallest capacity Auto class there was no stopping Judd Orange Brigade rider Robbie Daly who took all five moto wins with the maximum number of points of 225 for the first round. Throughout the field there were some outstanding battles as the stage was set for the year, where Brian Glyes took second place on the podium and Lucas Lee was in third with Stanley Siebert, Elvis Totney and Malachi Allan rounding out the top six in the category.
Spectators enjoyed some incredible action throughout the five 65cc class races at Culham – in fact, it went down to the second day to determine the opening round overall winner. Taking the top spot on the podium was Dirt Bike Rider Magazine sponsored rider Max Harris. Clinching second and third positions were Noah Eastwood and Brandon Buckley, who rode superbly throughout. Archie-Jay Girdham, Reece Jones and Charlie Richmond rounded out the top six.
SJP Moto Small Wheel 85cc rider Finley Evans battled hard to take the honours for the class with just a four point advantage over second placed rider, Tyla Hooley.  Judd Orange Brigade’s Ben Mustoe has had a positive winter to kick off his season with a first podium aboard his KTM. Will Haddock, Warren Clarke and Finlay Boxhall concluded the top six for the class.
The Big Wheel 85cc class provided some outstanding racing to watch across the pack with some great competitive riding to keep the spectators on their toes. After a very close finish in a number of motos SJP Moto rider Charlie Heyman took the overall victory with 219 points followed by Sam Atkinson in second with 216 points. Judd Orange Brigade rider Bailey Johnston, last year’s 85cc S/W champion, was third on the podium with 200 points. Finishing fourth was Revo Husqvarna rider Ollie Colmer, whilst Wal Beaney and Kiean Boughen, who both will be competing at a number of EMX rounds this year, were fifth and sixth.
The 125cc class had some hot competition throughout the weekend and it was a spectacle to see and hear the sound of 125cc machines tearing around the Oxfordshire circuit. Taking the 2019 opening round overall was Judd Orange Brigade riders Preston Williams and Louie Kessell in first and third, with Apico supported rider Jack Grayshon, who was the champion in the 85cc Big Wheel category last season, in second place. Rounding out the top six for the British 125cc Championship class was James Smith, Cullen Scott and Buster Hart.

The final class for the weekend was the Open class with Verde Sports KTM EMX250 rider Dominic Lancett taking all five moto wins. Hardcore Racing Yamaha rider Max Ingham took second place on the podium with Judd Orange Brigade rider Drew Anderson just four points behind in third position. Fourth overall went to Joseph Dent, with Finn Eady and Jack Roberts in fifth and sixth positions.
The SCOTT Sports Holeshot Awards were given to riders reaching the first corner first for each race moto throughout the weekend, with a total of 30 winners clinching points for the championship that will be presented at the end of the year.
The Judd KTM British Youth Championship heads to Pontrilas near Hereford for the second round of the six event British Youth Motocross Championship on April 27 and 28.
Find out more at

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Motocross
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400