The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us

May Day Action at Darley Moor

Monday April 29, 2019 at 4:45pm
May Day Action at Darley Moor
This May Day Bank Holiday weekend will see Round 2 of the Darley Moor Motor Cycle Road Race Championship take place at the Darley Moor Motorsports Centre, near Ashbourne (DE6 2ET) on Monday 6th May 2019. In addition to the regular Championship classes for both two and three wheels there will be a huge variety of machinery out on-track when the Thunderfest event takes place.

The weekend will also see the first trophy of the year presented, the Curtis Milner Trophy, in memory of a young Darley Moor racer who lost his life in a road accident. The winner of the Trophy is decided over the second Formula 600 race from Round 1 and 2. The 2018 winner, Lloyd Shelley (Burntwood) is the favourite after winning the second race at Round 1, but with Stephen Parsons (Cumbria) taking the opening race win that day it will definitely not be a foregone conclusion, plus Matt Zschiesche (Stoke on Trent) followed the pair home in both races last time out he will be looking to hit the front, one thing for sure it will be fantastic deciding race. The Club hope that once again Curtis’ parents, Craig and Tina, will be on hand to present the Trophy to the victor.

The Thunderfest event is open to any motorcycle, road or race, built before 1978, from 50cc through to 990cc and with almost 40 riders registered there will be huge selection of machines out on track. After practice, the riders set their own target speed and attempt to lap the circuit for 20 minutes plus 2 laps, as close to this time as possible, the rider nearest to their target wins. With the huge variety of machinery on track at the same time this requires a high degree of riding skill and concentration. The selection of machines includes the 50cc Grand Prix Van Veen Kreidler of Mick Smedley (Derby) to 2017 winner, Robert Head (Cotgrave) who lapped within 0.01mph of his target, on his 650 BSA/Norton, through to Ralph Coldwell’s (Dronfield) 920cc Norton. Other local riders include Brian Sadler (Allendale) 700 Triumph; Frank Melling (Manley) ES Manx Norton; Mike Harvey (Derby) 750cc Triton; Martin Head (Cotgrave) 725 Norton/BSA; Brian Jackson (Lichfield) 175cc Honda; Phil Bootherstone (Burton on Trent) 500 Moto Morini; Gra-ham Ashley (Sandiacre) BMW R75 and Ian Jackson (Cheadle Hulme) T500 Suzuki.

The new Junior Championship could well see the first solo victory for a female competitor when Scarlett Robinson (New Mills) and Katie Hand (Cabourne), currently second and third, respectively, in the standings. The pair have also entered the Lightweight class which in addition to multiple Champion, Chris Moore (High Peak) has a podium finisher across Europe and Australia in the International Classic GP Championship, Colin Sleigh (West Bridgford). Sleigh will not only be putting his classic machine against the more modern machinery in the Lightweight class, but also against the regular Classic Championship runners.

At the time of writing none of the top three in the Open Solo and Peak Cup classes were entered so the door is left wide open for the likes of Jim Hodson (Wigan), Carl Morris (Etwall), MJ Morgan (Chesterfield), Richard Eglin (Derby) to capitalise on their absence.

The Pre-Injection class will be running alongside the Open Solo machines next weekend and the top three have all entered the meeting; Anthony Froggatt (Worksop), Adam Walters (Derby) and Tim Walsh (Buxton). Although 3rd in this class Walsh is leading the Pre-Electronic 600cc & 750 Twin Championship but, once again, he will have the likes of Stuart Bradbury (Kilburn) and Lee Smith (Mansfield) challenging for honours too.

For the Sidecar classes the Club are delighted to announce that 8 times Sidecar TT Winner, Dan Sayle (Isle of Man) will be making his return to the class following his serious accident at last year’s Classic TT on a solo machine, as passenger to George Holden (Stoke on Trent), son of double TT winner John.

Last year everybody needed to try and shelter from the sun, but after last weekend’s glorious weather it is fore-cast to be a little cooler, but no rain, so the day should bring about some excellent racing.

The cost of adult admission to Darley Moor for all meetings, except the end of season Stars at Darley meeting, is £13.00 per day, accompanied children under 16 are free, and Senior Citizens are £9.00. Parking and Paddock Transfer is free and a programme costs just £3.00. Adult admission to the Test Days on 6th April 13th July and 12th October is £6.00, Senior Citizens 65 and over £4.00.

For the Stars at Darley event on 13th October the adult admission price is £16.00 and Senior Citizens £10.00.

Advance Tickets at discount prices are also available on-line just visit the Darley Race Shop for full details -  

A 2018 Season Pass for Darley Moor is also available for £80 including VAT (£50 incl VAT Senior Citizens) and admits to ALL motor cycle events at the circuit including test days and can be purchased online or by sending a cheque made payable to Darley Moor MCRRC Ltd, together with the full name of the season pass holders to: Season Passes, Darley Moor MCRRC Ltd, Anvil House, Derby Road, Old Tupton, Chesterfield, S42 6LA

There is ample room for spectators to camp and caravan at Darley Moor over the race weekends. The cost is £6.00 per unit per night. Camping will normally be available from 2.00 pm on the Friday evening until 12.00 noon on the day after the meeting or by special arrangement with the circuit management – Call 01335 343833.

Darley Moor is one of the few circuits in which dogs are welcome, provided they are always kept on a lead during race day and the owners act in a responsible manner.

2019 Championships (After Round 1)

Junior Championship

1st James Bull, 16pts; 2nd Katie Hand, 12pts; 3rd Scarlett Robinson, 10pts

Classic & Forgotten Era up to 250cc

1st Graham Oakley, 16pts; 2nd Glenn Atkinson, 12pts; 3rd Mark Cockerton, 10pts

Classic & Forgotten Era 251cc to 500cc

1st Dave McCoy, 15pts; 2nd Mike Lees, 12pts; 3rd Richard Stott, 10pts

Classic & Forgotten Era 501cc – 1300cc

1st David Bradley, 16pts;

Lightweight Championship

1st Josh Hiatt, 12pts; 2nd Tony Griffiths, 10pts; 3rd Gillian McGaw, 8pts

Honda CB500 & Suzuki Bandit Championship

1st Mark Brailsford, 16pts; 2nd Brendan Brown 12pts; 3rd Liam Clements, 10pts

Formula 600 Championship

1st Lloyd Shelley, 15pts; 2nd Stephen Parsons, 13pts; 3rd Matt Zschiesche, 10pts

Pre-electronic 600cc & 750cc Twin Championship

1st Tim Walsh, 15pts; 2nd Stuart Bradbury, 13pts; 3rd Lee Smith, 10pts

Mini Sound of Thunder Championship

1st Daley Mathison, 16pts; 2nd Dave Carson, 12pts; 3rd Richard Saville, 10pts

Open Solo

1st Daley Mathison, 16pts; 2nd Josh Daley, 12pts; 3rd Ben Scranage, 10pts


1st Anthony Froggatt, 15pts; 2nd Adam Walters, 13pts; 3rd Tim Walsh, 10pts

Sound of Thunder

1st Matt Zschiesche, 16pts; 2nd Rich Baker, 12pts; 3rd Zach Tansley, 10pts

Peak Cup

1st Josh Daley, 16pts; 2nd Daley Mathison, 12pts; 3rd Ben Scranage, 10pts

Open Sidecar

1st Roy Tansley/Freddy Lelubez, 16pts; 2nd Keith Forrest/William Szanel, 12pts; 3rd Keith Waddington/Mick Sto-rey, 10pts

Formula 600 Sidecar

1st Allan Schoefield/Steve Thomas, 16pts; 2nd Dan Knight/Matthew Rostron, 12pts; 3rd Roger Stockton/Bradley Stockton, 10pts

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Road Race
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400