The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us

The Sidecars are Belle Vue Bound for the Finale

Thursday October 4, 2018 at 4:48pm
The Sidecars are Belle Vue Bound for the Finale
The 1000cc methanol-guzzling Sidecars head to Manchester next Saturday (October 13th), to Belle Vue, the home of the Aces. The National Speedway Stadium will host the fourth and final round of the 2018 British Sidecar Speedway Championships. And if the other three rounds are anything to go by Speedway fans will be in for an evening of thrilling, fairing-rubbing, edge of the seat racing.

This week everyone in the speedway world is talking about the final round of the Speedway GP in Torun with Tai Woffinden and Bartosz Zmarzlik going head-to-head with Woffinden as favourite to lift the crown, holding a ten point advantage. Next week it’s all about the sidecars where Paul Whitelam/Alan Elliott and current champions Mark Cossar/Carl Blyth head north separated by just three points, advantage Team Whitelam. With the added twist of the rules where each team is able to drop their worst point scoring round this may play into the hands of Team Cossar. They had a bad night in the office at the first round at Leicester where the gremlins struck back in May.

But when the tapes rise both teams will be going for the win…anything less that that may hand the prestigious title to the other.

The only crew still with a mathematical chance of standing on top of the championship podium is Mick Cave/Bradley Steer. Nine points shy of the top slot but as always they will be giving 100%.
Back after missing out in King’s Lynn is Rod Winterburn/Billy Winterburn former Grasstrack 1000cc sidecars Masters Champions and equally at home on the shale. Currently on 22 points along with Will Often/ Josh Russell with the crews of Mick Stace/Roddy Stirling and Rob Wilson/Terry Saunters just a point shy. Four crews within just two points, proof of how competitive this year’s championship has been throughout.

Sixteen crews line-up in the main event with two crews tied for that last slot so fifteen crews have gone into the draw with Kev Lapham/Coran and George Penfold/Ryan Barker heading for a match race after practice, the winner going into the main event.

The other will go into the Reserves Rumble to make up an evening consisting of over 20 heats of sidecar speedway action.

20+ heats of thrilling 1000cc-180bhp-no brakes action for only £10 for adults with accompanied under 16’s going FREE it’s a great night for all the family. Tickets can be purchased online at

Practice begins at 6pm with the tapes up at 7pm prepare to be entertained.

1.    Mick Cave/Bradley Steer
2.    Paul Whitelam/Alan Elliott
3.    Matt Fumarola/Gaz Williams
4.    Rod Winterburn/Billy Winterburn
5.    Mark Cossar/Carl Blyth
6.    Mick Stace/Roddy Stirling
7.    Will Offen/Josh Russell
8.    Joe Mogg/Jake Cutler
9.    Neville Penfold/Kev Jones
10.    Tom Cossar/Wayne Rickards
11.    Simon Beaney/Gareth Bemister
12.    Will Penfold/Ricky Pay
13.    Philip Wynn/Adam Cowper-Smith
14.    Jack Penfold/Kizz Ivy
15.    Rob Wilson/Terry Saunters

Run off for main event
Kevin Lapham/Coran Allen
George Penfold/Ryan Barker

Reserves Rumble
Clint Blondel/Chris Wall
Shaun Harvey/Danny Hogg

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Track Racing
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400