All Set For Round 3 at Darley Moor

Tuesday June 12, 2018 at 11:15am
All Set For Round 3 at Darley Moor
Get ready to pack the sun cream for another scorching day out at the Darley Moor Motor Sports Centre, Near Ashbourne (DE6 2ET) this Sunday, 17th June, as the Darley Moor Motor Cycle Road Race Club prepare for Round 3 of the Club’s Championship.

The Peak Cup class is certainly going to be an interesting class this year with Lloyd Shelley (Burntwood) upsetting the regular runners and taking victory on his Formula 600 machine last time out.  Another new name currently heads the championship standings, Harry Jackson (Mansfield) was beginning to close in on Shelley at the last round, but ran out of laps, although his 2nd place did keep him on the top of the standings, with a slim 5point lead over Shelley.  Ben Scranage (Bolton), Richard Eglin (Derby) and Jim Hodson (Wigan) are sure to be amongst this pair, trying to ensure the larger 1000cc machines make use of that extra power effectively.  Up to four of these riders will be resuming their battles in the Open Solo class, Scranage and Jackson are currently level on points at the head of this table.

Shelley will also be in action in the Formula 600 races and is probably the favourite, but several local riders will be ensuring they stay in the hunt for Championship honours.  At the last round Jamie Pearson (Derby) fought his way through to 2nd place and Matt Zschiesche (Biddulph) claimed 3rd place on the final lap.  However, Pearson will be one of the favourites to take the honours in the Pre-Injection 1300 class, currently enjoying a 9point lead over Anthony Froggatt (Worksop), the pair split by just 0.7sec at the previous Round.

The Mini Sound of Thunder machines were sharing the track with the Pre-Injection 1300cc machines last time out, Eliot Williams (Flintshire) secured the class victory and was able to extend his championship lead over

Richard Stubbs (Stone) who failed to finish the race.  Stubbs will be looking to close the gap this time around.

At the previous Round Chris Moore (High Peak) took a comfortable victory in the combined Lightweight/CB500/Formula Darley race, but the battle behind was frantic to say the least, again involving local riders.   John Bolsover (Chesterfield) on his Formula Darley machine, James Ford (High Peak) on his Lightweight machine, plus Daz

Bellworthy (Derby), Andy Whale (Birmingham) and Mark Brailsford (Chesterfield) all on CB500 machines are sure to be towards the front and entertaining the spectators.

Brailsford will also be in action in the combined Classics/Formula 125 races; at the last Round he held the lead for the opening laps, until David Bradley (Matlock) overhauled him on his Classic 1000 machine.  The modern

Formula 125 class will certainly be hotly contested with the top3 separated by just 1point; Jeremy Knight (Newbury) and Calum Beach (Conway) level on points at the head of the table, whilst McAuley Longmore (Willenhall), victor last time out, is just 1 point behind.

Local riders will be chasing the honours in the combined Steel Framed 600/Pre-Injection 600 races; Anthony Porter (Chesterfield) is now just 3 points behind championship leader Dave Marsden (Birkenhead), after pipping Dean Ephgrave (Hucknall) for 2nd spot on the final lap at the last round.

Andrew Lowe (Stone) won the Pre-Injection class last time ahead of Andrew Scanlon (Thatcham) and Tim Walsh (Buxton).  Despite finishing 6th in class last time, Joe Walton (Preston) still heads the Championship by 8 points from Lowe.

Fans of three wheeled motorsport are sure to be entertained this coming weekend with the top three of the Open Sidecar Championship split by just 3 points; Gary Knight/Dan Evanson (Macclesfield/Crewe) lead Anthony Eades/Keith Box (Hyde/Wolverhampton) by just 2 points with Roy Tansley/Chris Judge (Derby) a further point behind.  A similar margin separates the top 2 in the Formula 600 Sidecar Championship; Roger Stockton/Bradley Stockton (Winsford/Crewe) head Tony Baker/Mike Killingsworth (Sutton


At Round 2 the marshals where definitely not having fun in the sun, hopefully this forthcoming weekend their hardest job will be trying to avoid getting sunburnt.

Practice should start at 10am, with the first race scheduled to start at 11.30am; the cost of adult admission to Darley Moor for all meetings, except the end of season Stars at Darley meeting, is £12.00 per day, children under 16 are free, and Senior Citizens are £8.00. Parking and Paddock Transfer is free and a

programme costs just £3.00.  Adult admission to the Test Days is £6.00, Senior Citizens 65 and over £4.00.

For the Stars at Darley event on 9th October the adult admission price is £16.00 and Senior Citizens £10.00.

Advance Tickets at discount prices are also available on-line just visit the Darley Race Shop for full details -

There is ample room for spectators to camp and caravan at Darley Moor over the race weekends. The cost is £5.00 per unit per night.  Camping will normally be available from 4.00 pm on the Friday evening until 10.00 am on the day after the meeting or by special arrangement with the circuit management – Call 01335 343833.

Darley Moor is one of the few circuits in which dogs are welcome, provided they are kept on a lead at all times during race day and the owners act in a responsible manner.

2018 Championship standings

Peak Cup

1st Harry Jackson, 21pts; 1st Lloyd Shelley, 16pts; 3rd Jim Hodson, 15pts;

Open Solo

1st Ben Scranage, 18pts; 2nd Harry Jackson, 18pts; 3rd Richard Eglin, 9pts;

Open Sidecars

1st Gary Knight/Dan Evanson, 18pts; 2nd Anthony Eades/Keith Box, 16pts; 3rd Roy Tansley/Chris Judge, 15pts;

Formula 600

1st Lloyd Shelley, 27pts; 2nd Jamie Pearson, 15pts; 3rd Matt Zschiesche, 12pts

Formula Darley

1st Martin Robbins, 21pts; 2nd Tony Griffiths, 18pts; 3rd Alex Roberts, 7pts;

Formula 125

1st Jeremy Knight, 18pts; 2nd Calum Beach, 18pts; 3rd McCauley Longmore, 17pts;

Formula 600 Sidecars  

1st Roger Stockton/Bradley Stockton, 21pts; 2nd Tony Baker/Mike Killingsworth, 18pts; 3rd John Chandler/Arlo Brown, 8pts

Steel Framed 600

1st Dave Marsden, 24pts; 2nd Anthony Porter, 21pts; 3rd Darren Spruce, 8pts

Pre-Injection 600

1st Joe Walton, 20pts; 2nd Andrew Lowe, 12pts; 3rd Tim Walsh, 8pts

Mini Sound of Thunder

1st Eliot Williams, 27pts; 2nd Richard Stubbs, 12pts; 3rd David Carson, 9pts


1st Daz Bellworthy, 27pts; 2nd Andy Whale, 14pts; 3rd Mark Brailsford, 14pts                                                                                                                                 

Pre-Injection (Up to 1300cc)

1st Jamie Pearson, 27pts; 2nd Anthony Froggatt, 18pts; 3rd Adam Walters, 12pts

Classic 250

1st Geoff Hadwin, 27pts; 2nd Glenn Atkinson, 18pts; 3rd Bill Butler, 12pts

Classic 350

1st Mark Cockerton, 15pts; 2nd Simon Collins, 9pts;

Classic 500

1st Dave McCoy, 24pts; 2nd Oliver Presswood, 21pts; 3rd Derek Butler, 4pts

Classic 1000

1st David Bradley, 27pts; 2nd Christopher Lynas, 12pts; 3rd Mike Harding, 12pts


1st Chris Moore, 27pts; 2nd James Ford, 12pts; 3rd Bradley Wilson, 10pts

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Road Race
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400