2017 ACU British Enduro Timecard Championship Review

Thursday December 21, 2017 at 3:40pm
2017 ACU British Enduro Timecard Championship Review
2017 proved to be a very successful year for the ACU British Timecard Enduro Championship, with rounds in Scotland, Yorkshire, Mid Wales & Norfolk & racing tight in all respective classes.


After recovering from an injury early on in the season World Junior Enduro Champion Brad Freeman has never looked back & added the British Enduro Championship to his list of growing honours. Isle of Man rider Danny McCanney had to settle for the runner up spot whilst newly crowned European E2 Enduro Champion & winner of the C2 class at the recent International Six Days Enduro in France Jamie Lewis completed the top 3. Youngster Jack Edmondson was next up, although “little ed” suffered a wrist injury mid season which didn’t help his title ambitions. A strong consistent performance from ex motocross star Alex Snow saw him earn himself a very creditable 5th place overall closely following in by Cornish star Josh Gotts, another rider to pick up a wrist injury during the season. Hard charging Lee Sealey rounded off the season in 7th, while the flying Scotsman Fraser Flockhart 8th & World Enduro Champion for the 2nd season running Steve Holcombe 9th.  Young hotshot Dan Mundell had a great 1st season in the championship class finishing 10th as well as putting in some excellent results in the European Enduro Championships & ISDE.


1st Brad Freeman  131 points

2nd Danny McCanney  116

3rd Jamie Lewis  77

4th Jack Edmondson  71

5th Alex Snow  62

6th Josh Gotts  61

7th Lee Sealey  48

8th Fraser Flockhart  40

9th Steve Holcombe  34

10th Dan Mundell  29


The very strong Expert class saw one the closest battles in years, with three riders taking it to the very final round to decide who was going to take this year’s crown. It was Bradley King who came away champion beating Jay Thomas by 1 point, with Alex Walton a further 3 points to take third. Jon Hunt brought home 4th with Andrew Bisset taking 5th a further 2 points behind Hunt.


1st Bradley King  103 points

2nd Jay Thomas  102

3rd Alex Walton  99

4th Jon Hunt  74

5th Andrew Bisset  72

6th Kevin Murray  65

7th Aaron Gordon  57

8th Jordan Ridgeway  46

9th Richard Ely  41

10th Roger Holland  39


The Clubman class saw a very interesting battle throughout the year with several different class winners, but it was Fred Adams who took the overall title, with runner up Allyn Taylor 5 points adrift. The ever improving Harry Hillier-Rees took an impressive third, while ex pro rugby player Tom James taking 4th just infront of up & coming youngster Lewis Ranger.


1st Fred Adams  108 points

2nd Allyn Taylor  103

3rd Harry Hillier-Rees  100

4th Tom James  74

5th Lewis Ranger  70

6th Max Ditchfield  67


Seasoned campaigner & pre season favourite Andrew Edwards was pretty much unstoppable in the ever popular Over 40’s class. Taking 2nd was Mr consistent Russell Millward, whilst the battle for 3rd saw Andrew Reeves just pip hard charging Scotsman Richard Hay by a single point.

Over 40’s:

1st Andrew Edwards  114 points

2nd Russell Millward  99

3rd Andrew Reeves  75

4th Richard Hay  74

5th Vince Harker  57

6th Karl Greenall  52


Paul “Elvis” Davies capped off a great season taking the Over 50’s class championship along with coming home with a well deserved silver medal from this year’s International Six Days Enduro in France. Paul Armstrong finished a fine runner up while Darren Osbourne although missing from the final round rounded off the top three.

Over 50’s:

1st Paul Davies  129 points

2nd Paul Armstrong  99

3rd Darren Osbourne  84

4th Paul Spurgeon  75

5th Colin Blunt  73

6th Philip George  58


In the ever-growing Ladies class, young Rosie Rowett showed her class by winning every round of the series. The battle for 2nd went down to the final check of the final round, with Ellie Cooke narrowingly beating rival Chloe Richards by a slender two points.


1st Rosie Rowett  140 points

2nd Ellie Cooke  64

3rd Chloe Richards  62

4th Glesni Jones  32

5th Abi Childs  25

6th Nieve Holmes  17


Stop press: Witley & District MCC are pleased to announce that they will be hosting round 1 of the 2018 ACU British Timecard Enduro Championship. The event will take place on Sunday 11th February at Warren Heath, Hampshire, RG27 0QB. Utilising an 18mile loop of mixed forestry going, and with two special tests planned the club are working hard to put together a top class event. Entries will open at 8am on Saturday 6th January through the ACU Members website. For further details – www.witleymcc.org


» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Enduro
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400
Email: admin@acu.org.uk