The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us

National Finals at Santa Pod Raceway

Thursday November 9, 2017 at 2:47pm
National Finals at Santa Pod Raceway
The final round of the 2017 ACU Championships was run at Santa Pod Raceway.  There was no competitors competing in Pro Stock Bike, so Len Paget is the 2017 ACU Pro Stock Bike Champion.


Top Fuel Bike.

Former champion Rene Van Den Berg ran a career personal best of 6.095, which is under the ACU et record of 6.208.  Steve Woollatt also ran under the record with a 6.207 to qualify in second spot.  Neil Midgley also ran a career personal best of 6.477at 177.87.  Al Smith made his competition debut on Phil Baimbridge Top Fuel Bike.  Smith had some new bike issues, belt broke in the opening session and then fluid leaks on the following sessions.

Berg hurt his motor and had a bye run in the semis but was a no show in the final.  In the other semi-final Woollatt set a new et record of 6.200 when he beat Midgley who ran his best speed on the V Twin of 179.25.  The win gave Woollatt the ACU Championship.


Funny Bike.

Allan Davies dominated the qualifying sessions with a 7.242.  Stefan Hagenstein was Davies nearest challenger with a personal best of 7.615.  Dave Buttery blew his motor at ¾ track big time and was out of the competition.

Davies reached final and faced out going champion Phil Crossley.  Crossley got out the gate first but Davies rode around him and took the win light and the Championship with 7.456 to 7.839.


Comp Bike.

This was a competitive field at the National Finals, which saw seven riders running in the seven-second bracket.  Sean Mills headed the field in qualifying with a 7.439.  Mark Hope ran personal best figures of 7.595-192.95 (faster that the ACU speed record) for second spot.  Tony Clark also ran personal bests of 7.597-184.36.  There were also personal bests for Dave Batcheler 7.826. Martin Walker 7.900-183.56. Sigmaro Profas 7.903. Daniel Bergelin 8.178 and Eric Jennes 8.253.

Hope set a speed record in round two, by backing up 192.95 with a speed of 192.14.  But that was short lived when Mills ran 193.76.  In round one Mills ran a jaw dropping 7.288 at 198.79.

Final was between the champion Eddy Smiley and Hope.  Hope was in his first ACU final and went on to win the event 7.510 to Smiley 7.749.


Super Street Bike.

Richard Stubbins was the number one qualifier 7.076-202.35 ahead of championship contender Graham Balchin 7.159-198.02. Rudolfo Maduro ran a personal best of 7.268.  Stephen Mead also ran a p/b 7.287.  Steve Venables broke a conrod and fitted daughter Jemma spare motor to compete in the eliminations.

Stubbins was crowned champion before he reached the final were he faced Balchin.  Stubbins won the event to cap a great season winning both the ACU Championship and European FIM Cup.


Congratulations to the following champions.

Top Fuel Bike.  Steve Woollatt.

Funny Bike.  Allan Davies.

Comp Bike.  Eddy Smiley.

Pro Stock Bike.  Len Paget.

Super Street Bike.  Richard Stubbins.


Report by Steven Moxley.
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400