The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us
[Read the current ACU COVID-19 Statement here]
Due to the country being in national lockdown, ACU Head Office is currently manned on minimal levels with the majority of staff working from home. For sporting matters please contact your relevant sport secretary: Motocross email; Trials & Enduro email; Road Racing and Grass Track email; for all other enquiries, please continue to email
Please note: To save on overheads, and whilst there is no sporting activity, ACU Head Office has reduced to a three day working week, therefore, staff are on furlough Mondays and Fridays and unable to respond to enquiries on those days. This will be reviewed at the end of March.

Nomination Open for the Pinhard Trophy

Tuesday September 5, 2017 at 1:55pm
Nomination Open for the Pinhard Trophy
Once again the Sunbeam MCC are seeking nominations for one of the UK’s most prestigious awards - THE PINHARD TROPHY which is in the gift of Sunbeam MCC


This award has been presented since 1950 to the best Under-21 year old sporting motorcyclist competing under ACU or SACU jurisdiction. (See Rules)

Last year’s winner was 16 year old Trials rider Jack Peace and the Trophy was presented to Jack at the ACU Awards ceremony in January. 2016 had been a fantastic year for Jack – European Junior Cup (open to up-to-24 year olds), World Youth 125 Championship, European Youth Championship, British Youth A Championship, and a list of top results on the domestic scene including winning his first Adult National. The Judges were particularly impressed by Jack’s commitment at grass-roots level, always willing to help out at trials in his area and giving talks promoting motorcycle sport at local schools

Jack's success follows his elder brother Dan’s Runner-Up position in 2014.  On hearing of his win Jack said  "I`m really honoured to have been nominated by my local clubs in The East Yorks Centre for this prestigious award.  I`d like to say a big Thankyou to them and to the Judges who voted for me. It’s a tremendous thrill to see my name added to the list of winners of this fantastic trophy.


Previous winners are an honours roll of motorcycling greats over the last 60 years who have excelled in all spheres of the sport including Mike Hailwood, Jeff Smith, Roy Peplow, Dan Shorey, Alexz Wigg and a host of others who have gone on to be national and international household names. Not least being the late, great John Surtees.


The Trophy is a huge 3 gallon cup together with a retention replica Tankard.  Sunbeam MCC awards the trophy in memory of Frederick William Pinhard who died in 1948 whilst serving as Secretary of the Club.


All sections of the ACU together with the Scottish-ACU are invited to submit entries as well as anyone who feels personally eligible to make an entry. Entries can be for active competitors or administrators under-21 at the beginning of November 2015 (see Rules).


Editors of leading motorcycle periodicals are invited as judges together with General Secretary of the ACU and three officials appointed by Sunbeam MCC.


Entry Forms, Regulations and a List of Previous Winners are available from Sunbeam’s Trustee for the Trophy, Tony Lloyd who can be contacted on or 07751300233

Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400