The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us
[Read the current ACU COVID-19 Statement here]
Due to the country being in national lockdown, ACU Head Office is currently manned on minimal levels with the majority of staff working from home. For sporting matters please contact your relevant sport secretary: Motocross email; Trials & Enduro email; Road Racing and Grass Track email; for all other enquiries, please continue to email
Please note: To save on overheads, and whilst there is no sporting activity, ACU Head Office has reduced to a three day working week, therefore, staff are on furlough Mondays and Fridays and unable to respond to enquiries on those days. This will be reviewed at the end of March.

2017 Oliver's Mount Steve Henshaw International Gold Cup September 23rd & 24th

Friday September 15, 2017 at 11:16am
2017 Oliver's Mount Steve Henshaw International Gold Cup September 23rd & 24th
The 2017 Oliver’s Mount Steve Henshaw International Gold Cup takes place on September 23rd and 24th in the seaside town of Scarborough, North Yorkshire. With thousands of fans expected to flock to the only road race track in England, here is the preview for the weekend’s Road Racing Festival.

The 2.5 mile circuit has been famous for 70 years. With the public road winding its way around Oliver’s Mount, this venue is transformed into a motor racing track four times a year and the biggest event of them all is the Gold Cup.

With names like Giacomo Agostini, Barry Sheene, Mick Grant, Guy Martin and John McGuinness on the list of former winners, who is likely to challenge for the win this year?

Dean Harrison has made Oliver’s Mount his event for the last 3 years, winning almost every race he has started. In 2017 he has been dominant winning both the Spring Cup and Cock O’The North feature races so he heads into the race as the absolute favourite. Local rider Daley Mathieson from Stockton-on-Tees will likely provide the biggest opposition. His lap time earlier this year was faster than the long standing record held by Guy Martin – if only Dean Harrison hadn’t of been in the same race! The second fastest man ever to lap Oliver’s Mount has been closing the gap on Dean all year and will be confident heading into the Gold Cup.

Michael Dunlop returns to Oliver’s Mount after a decent 2017 season of racing. Some mechanicals here and there have stopped Michael being the dominant force in road racing this year, but he has the speed and skill to win this race. Ivan Lintin has won many races around the Mount and after a frustrating year he will be looking to end the season with a win. Probably the rider with the most momentum right now is local rider Joey Thompson from York. He has been the fastest newcomer at every event he has raced this year and he will be looking for a great end to his perfect rookie year.

Throw into the mix the inform Jamie Coward from Ottley, local rider and track specialist James Cowton from nearby Driffield, crowd favorite Tom Weeden and the Irish Champion Derek Shiels and you can see why Dean Harrison is going to have to bring his A game to take the win.

Onto the sidecars, and former World Champion Tim Reeves returns to Oliver’s Mount looking for another win but it will be hard racing against the track specialists Conrad Harrison, Lee Crawford, Steve Ramsden and Greg Lambert. The sidecars continue to amaze and impress all our fans and we can’t wait to see the on-track battles resume.

Our guest of honour for the weekend is Phil McCallen who held the lap record at Oliver’s Mount for 10 years. We are extremely proud that Phil will be joining us and we look forward to seeing him again at Oliver’s Mount. In addition to Phil, Mike Hailwood’s son David will also be in the paddock all weekend. After parading his dad’s bike at the Barry Sheene Festival in the summer, David wanted to come back again and enjoy another race weekend. John McGuinness will also be onsite all weekend meeting fans and chatting about his career. He is also planning on bringing a couple of his race bikes along for fans to look at. We are hopeful that Ian Hutchinson will also be onsite meeting fans and signing his books.

Shakey Byrne’s BSB bike will be on display on the Silkolene stand and there will be a legends parade of some of the finest bikes here in the UK. With the biggest trade village in recent years there will be plenty of accessories and clothing for fans to buy along with a live band on site Saturday night.

The scene is certainly set for an incredible weekend of real road racing both on the track and off it.

Spectator tickets are available on the gate.



Saturday - £25

Sunday - £40

Weekend pass - £60


Children - 15 years and younger are admitted free of charge when accompanied by an adult.


Paddock Access - £20

Car Parking - free of charge



Camping is completely sold out for the weekend. Please do not try to arrive and pay on the gate.

All occupants must be in possession of a valid event admission ticket for duration of stay.

Children under the age of 15 at all meetings are admitted FREE, when accompanied by an ADULT.



Michael Dunlop

Dean Harrison

Ivan Lintin

Daley Mathison

Jamie Coward

James Cowton

Dan Hegarty

Derek Shiels

Joey Thompson

Ian Lougher

Tom Weeden

Peter Boast

Paul Owen

Adam McLean

Dave Molyneux

Tim Reeves

Conrad Harrison

Greg Lambert

Lee Crawford

Steve Ramsden



PRACTICE - 4 Laps:

08.50 Newcomers Briefing

09.00 Junior Even No's

09.15 Junior Odd No's

09.30 Super Lightweight

09.45 Lightweight and Ultra Lightweight

10.00 Senior

10.15 Classic Superbike

10.30 Open Even No’s

10.45 Open Odd No’s

11.00 Sidecars


11.15 Junior Even No's

11.30 Junior Odd No's

11.45 Super Lightweight

12.00 Lightweight and Ultra Lightweight

12.15 Senior

12.30 Classic Superbike

12.45 Open Even No’s

13.00 Open Odd No's

13.15 Sidecars


14.00 Race 1 David Jefferies Cup – Junior A race 1st Leg 8 laps

14.25 Race 2 David Jefferies Cup – Junior A race 1st Leg 6 laps

14.45 Race 3 Lee Pullen Trophy – Super L/weight 1st Leg 6 laps

15.10 Race 4 Les & Sheila Porritt Trophy F2 S/cars 1st Leg 6 laps

15.35 Race 5 Solo Open – A Race 1st Leg 8 laps

16.00 Race 6 Solo Open – B Race 1st Leg 6 laps

16.20 Race 7 Stu Reed & Phil Mellor Trophies Lightweight & Ultra Lightweight 1st Leg 8 laps

16.45 Race 8 The Marshalls Cup - Senior 1st Leg 8 laps

17.10 Race 9 Les & Sheila Porritt Trophy F2 S/cars 2nd Leg 6 laps

17.30 Race 10 Classic Superbike 1st Leg 8 laps




PRACTICE - 3 Laps:

09.00 Junior

09.12 Super Lightweight

09.24 Sidecars

09.36 Lightweight/ Ultra Lightweight

09.48 Senior

10.00 Classic Superbike

10.15 Gold Cup Qualifying – 15 minutes


11.00 Race 11 Stu Reed & Phil Mellor Trophies Lightweight & Ultra Lightweight 2ND Leg 8 laps

11.25 Race 12 David Jefferies Cup – Junior A race 2ND Leg 8 laps

11.50 Race 14 David Jefferies Cup – Junior A race 2ND Leg 6 laps

12.10 Race 15 Les & Sheila Porritt Trophy F2 S/cars 3RD Leg 6 laps

12.30 LUNCH

13.35 Parade Parade of Stars 4 laps

14.15 Race 16 Lee Pullen Trophy – S/Lightweight 2nd Leg 8 laps

14.40 Race 17 Open Solo – A race 2nd Leg 8 laps

15.05 Race 18 Open Solo – B race 2nd Leg 6 laps

15.25 Race 19 Classic Superbike 2nd Leg 8 laps

15.45 Gold Cup Build up

16.00 Race 20 Steve Henshaw International Gold Cup Final 8 laps

16.30 Race 21 Les & Sheila Porritt Trophy F2 S/cars 4th Leg 6 laps

16.50 Race 22 The Marshalls Cup - Senior 2nd Leg 8 laps

17.30 Trophy presentation at the Start Line


The organisers reserve the right to reschedule in the event of bad weather or other circumstances beyond their control.

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Road Race
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400