Great Racing at Round 4 of the Judd British Premier Cup

Friday July 7, 2017 at 8:32am
Great Racing at Round 4 of the Judd British Premier Cup
With the weather spot on, paddock entertainment on tap, and a cracking well prepared circuit to go at, round four of the British Premier Cup absolutely smashed it at Warmington Lane Cheshire last weekend.


In the official British Clubman championship Welsh wonders Ashley Greedy in MX1 and Sion Talbot in MX2 proved irresistible. Powering his way to the front each time Greedy would sweep the board clean as four out of five race wins for Talbot put him on top step. There's no doubt if the pair hadn't missed out on round one they'd both be right in contention for their respective titles. Up at the sharp end in the chase for silverware Josh Taylor increased his lead in MX1 after finishing second overall, as Cody Ling beat off Chris Nuttal in a great scrap for podium third.


In MX2, helping him grab second overall Jack Bass claimed the other heat win. MX2 Championship leader Tony Cadman was unlucky to hit problems in his final outing none the less a weekend of otherwise solid consistency (four third place returns) gave him section third.


In a very much smaller than usual Adult125's field the race win glory was spread around.  Jim Davies and Troy Willerton bagged a brace apiece as Aron Ongley brilliantly chipped in to claim his first win of the series. Carding nothing worse than a single third place finish Davies ran out the Expert overall winner, as Drew Anderson once again comprehensively clobbered all in the Junior 125's.


In the combined Youth Rookies stand out shows from both Josh Greedy and Preston Williams did their respective championship hopes a power of good. Getting across the line first four out of five times handed podium top to Greedy whilst bolstering his position at the head of the 250f series standings. In the 125's, Williams was on fire, absolutely loving the hard pack surface he nailed a perfect weekend going five from five. After a disappointing day one, Kurt Griffiths got his act together on day two. Going 1-2-2 he secured the overall runner up berth in the banger class as wild-card Declan Hunter (hitting four second place finishes) elbowed Billy Wilson out for section silver in the 125's. Following a solid weekends work, podium third in the 250f's went to Toby Avis.


Making a welcome return to winning ways, and looking almost fully fit again after recent serious injury, TM star Jack Grayshon ripped into the bw85's. Three race wins backed up with a pair of seconds saw Grayshon top the box as series contender Billy Carter bagged the other two heat wins and second overall. In a tremendous battle for third overall, super consistent Harry Preston just about got the nod over Mitchell Raine.


In the s/w 85's, championship leader Bailey Johnston and Aaron Ongley consistently gapped the field. Going head to head at the front of proceedings, three heat wins for Johnston as Ongley pocketed the other two victories underlined their superiority. Winning his final two heats in superb style Ongley only just fell short in his challenge having to settle for second overall. Making podium third Bradd Lee Timms successfully fended off the close scrappers behind. In name, Jack Keenan, Billy Moriarty and Cameron Box as they respectively rounded out the overall top six.


Judd Racing star rider Ollie Colmer nailed four more heat wins adding to his Junior 65's championship chasing lead. Team Green entrant and eventual section runner up Ben Mustoe was the only one to dent the Colmer pride. Mustoe snatching a gate to flag victory in heat five as Colmer worked his way up from sixth on lap one to finish second. Going bar to bar for podium third, McKenzie Marshall pulled out the stops in race five, his third place finish tipping the balance over Louis Vincent.


In the Auto under 7's section a glorious weekend for Hayden Statt saw him take the race victory four times as he nailed the overall win. The other race win and second overall went to Harley Smith as Archie Britton took third overall. In the under 8's section five different heat winners emerged as Sonny Rooney, Bubba Simkiss, Kayden Boyd, Jayden Jones, and Harry Shand all grabbed individual glory. Taking the overall win whilst showing the best consistency Zane Stephens ultimately finished as top dog. Tyla Thomas bagged second overall as Simkiss beat Aimus Peckam to third overall by a single point.


Words and photos Mike Gurney

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Motocross
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400