Bluestones Charity Trial Raises over £1600

Monday July 24, 2017 at 12:33pm
Bluestones Charity Trial Raises over £1600
The Bluestones Charity Trial was held at Blackshaw Moor Farm on Sunday and raised over £1600 for the Flash & Longnor First Responders.

A field of 81 competitors completed 3 laps of 15 sections at this iconic venue and all the entry fees from the event are donated to the charity as the ACU waived the usual insurance premium and Mr Stuart Day provides his land free of charge.

The course was in prime condition after overnight rain making grip hard to find in the initial stages but conditions improved considerably towards the end of the event making the course easier, this was compensated somewhat by the tiredness of the riders at this challenging event.

The Bluestones Trophy was retained by last year’s winner Sam Yeomans who lost just six marks over the three laps, his nearest rival Corey Dubik was just four marks away in second spot losing the advantage on sections 3 & 12 where Sam went clean. Youth rider Gus Oblein was third heading up Billy Craig and Matt Dixon.

The 50/50 route winner was Josh Atkinson on his 4 stroke Montesa chased home by a pack of riders including Andy Hipwell, Greg Moore and Tom Bennett. Josh survived a couple of lapses on sections 2 & 11 but beat the others by being ultra consistent on the rest of the course.

Kevin Stannard won the Clubmans competition having just returned from a 4 Day Trial in France the previous day, he was obviously still “in the zone”. Steve Hitchcock kept him honest, however by finishing only 2 marks in arrears.

Many thanks to Stuart and the Day family for their hospitality and making the venue available for this very worthy cause which provides an essential service to our local area.

Our next event is the Scott Ellis Trophy Trial on October 1st at Buttyfold Farm, Upper Hulme.

Report & Photos :- Scott Ellis



Bluestones Trophy         

Sam Yeomans                    JST Gas Gas                                         6 marks lost

Corey Dubik                        Acklams Beta                                     10

Gus Oblein                          SPJ Sherco                                           28

Billy Craig                             Inspire Honda                                    35

Matt Dixon                         Beta                                                       38

Joe Spivey                           Splat Sherco                                       48


50/50 ROUTE

Josh Atkinson                    Montesa                                              14

Andy Hipwell                      Gas Gas                                                17

Greg Moor                          TRS                                                         20

Tom Bennett                     TRS                                                         22

Dan Bower                          Montesa                                              23

Mark Timperley                Beta                                                       24



Kevin Stannard                  Gas Gas                                                10

Steve Hitchcock                Honda                                                   12

Don Snaith                          Yamaha                                                18

Andy Butt                            Montesa                                              22

Tony Dillon                          Montesa                                              23

Carl Braddock                    Xispa                                                     24          


» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Trials
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400