Shipton Wins Patchquick Trophy for Second Time

Friday June 9, 2017 at 9:10am
Shipton Wins Patchquick Trophy for Second Time
Back on Wednesday evening June 7th motocross fans from far afield made their way down to Little Silver Moto Parc, Exeter for the annual Patchquick Trophy event which had been organised by South West off Road (SWOR). A lot of rain had fallen leading up to the event, but more water was put down in the afternoon and the track was nigh on prime for the evenings programme of races and with many spectators in attendance all was set for a good event. This year’s event had attracted many top riders including 2015 winner Jake Shipton, Dan Thornhill, Josh Gilbert, James Dunn plus a last minute entry from one of the country’s top MX2 riders Conrad Mewse along with many others, but missing was last year’s winner Todd Kellett who was forced to withdraw through ill health.  


In the main event for the Patchquick Trophy it was the Crescent/RHR Yamaha of Shipton who would have first pick at the gate as he had notched up the fastest time in qualifying by the narrowest of margins, just 00.50 of a second over the Rockstar Energy Husqvarna of Mewse who was on a 350f rather than his usual 250f, but in the opening race it was Welshman Shane Carless on the Marsh MX Honda with the hole shot from Mewse who exited the first corner a bit wide with Shipton there in 3rd, but Carless was soon relegated to second as Mewse soon hit the front on the opening lap and was soon in to a rhythm. Shipton was all over Carless looking to get pass and he did so towards the end of lap 2 and was giving chase. Meanwhile back down the field all eyes were on James Dunn on the GL12 Racing 2-stroke Ktm who had got trapped on the inside at the first bend and was right at the back on the opening lap, but was absolutely flying up through the field. Carless was still there in 3rd on lap 4, but had Thornhill on the Cab Screens Husqvarna and the Dave Thorpe Off Road Centre Honda of Gilbert breathing all over him pressing to get pass. Gilbert passed Thornhill a lap later, then he went pass Carless who went down and dislocated his shoulder which side-lined him for the rest of the evening. Mewse was to go on to take a comfortable win from Shipton with Gilbert coming on strong in the closing stages taking a close 3rd, but the rider of the race had to be Dunn who had come virtually right from the back of the field to finish 6th and leading 2-stroke rider.


In the second moto Mewse wasted no time in this one with a clean hole shot from Thornhill with Shipton there in 3rd who was determined to get pass Thornhill, but Dan who doesn’t give up that easily held him at bay until lap 2 when Shipton got down the inside of him on a downhill section and Thornhill had to give way. By the end of lap 2 Mewse had a full 4 seconds lead and was to pull away even more lap by lap, but on lap 6 Mewse lost the front end going in to a downhill lefthander and went down and through came Shipton to take the lead. Mewse did remount still in 2nd and did close right up on Shipton who was giving his all and held on to take the win by just under a second with Gilbert after a mid-race tussle with Thornhill taking 3rd with Dunn again top 2-stroke finishing in 5th.


Going in to the last race both Mewse and Shipton were tied on points, so the battle was on and it looked as if Mewse had the better start, but just as he did in the opening race he ran a touch wide exiting the first corner and through on the inside went Shipton and Thornhill who took the early lead, but not a good start for Gilbert who was lying 3rd in the standings going in to the last race who slid off on the start straight and was well back. Shipton was all over Thornhill ready to pounce on any opportunity which did come towards the end of the opening lap when Thornhill left the door open going in to a lefthander and Shipton took his chance and with it took the lead. Thornhill now had Mewse climbing all over his back wheel which was to continue for a further lap which all the time was letting Shipton get away at the front, but eventually Mewse forced his way pass Thornhill and now had his sights set on Shipton who was a full 5 seconds ahead. Mewse did close mid race, but as the backmarkers came in to play things got a bit awkward and Shipton eased away again and went on to take the win and the Patchquick Trophy for the second time in his career with Mewse 2nd, Thornhill 3rd just ahead of leading 2-stroke rider Dunn with Gilbert after his earlier spill taking an excellent 5th.


In the Group 2 races which consisted of the second fastest 40 riders there was some really close racing with Mark Cornish taking an early lead in the opening race, but he was gradually hauled in by Harry Day who didn’t have the best of starts who was to catch and pass Cornish mid race and from there went on to take a comfortable win with Lewis Hunt another rider not with the best of starts coming through to take 3rd. In the second moto again it was Cornish with the best start, but a better start from Day in this one tucked in second who was all over Cornish and was to get pass on lap 2 and from there went on to command the race with a comfortable win to claim the Speed Trophy with Jamie Paget eventually taking 3rd.               


In the Group 3 races Martin Curtin was to hole shot both races, but there was only one winner at the end of the day and that was Corey Hawkins who once he hit the front in both races didn’t look back and was a convincing winner of the Holne Shield.


Report and Pictures by Dave Rich


Patchquick Trophy Event             

1st Jake Shipton (450f Crescent/RHR Yamaha)                     42 + 45 + 45 = 132

2nd Conrad Mewse (350f Rockstar Energy Husqvarna)     45 + 42 + 42 = 129

3rd Dan Thornhill (450f Cab Screens Husqvarna)                  38 + 38 + 40 = 116

4th Josh Gilbert (450f Dave Thorpe off Road/RFX Honda)                40 + 40 + 36 = 116

5th James Dunn (250 GL12 Racing KTM)                                   35 + 36 + 38 = 109

6th Ty Kellett (250 St Blazey Mx/98 Vision Husqvarna)      34 + 30 + 34 = 98

7th Josh Taylor (350f J D Racing/Moto 33 Ktm)                      33 + 33 + 30 = 96

8th Joe Clayton (450f Keystone/Wheeldon Farm Honda)                36 + 31 + 25 = 92

9th Jake Curtis-Stevens (250f D S C Cornwall Kawasaki))  30 + 32 + 29 = 91

10th Luke Mellows (4Four Developments Husqvarna)      29 + 26 + 31 = 86

Speed Shield

1st Harry Day (250 Honda)                             45 + 45 = 90

2nd Mark Cornish (250 Honda)                     42 + 42 = 84

3rd Alex Shutler (250 Honda)                      38 + 36 = 74

4th Lewis Hunt (250f Yamaha)                      40 + 33 = 73

5th Jamie Paget (250 Ktm)                             29 + 40 = 69

6th Josh Griffiths (350f Ktm)                         36 + 32 = 68  

Holne Shield

1st Corey Hawkins (250f Yamaha)              45 + 45 = 90

2nd Billy Saunders (250f Yamaha)               42 + 40 = 82

3rd Martin Curtin (450f Honda)                   38 + 42 = 80

4th Simon Harding (250f Husqvarna)         36 + 38 = 74

5th Jarrad Perkins (250f Ktm)                       40 + 34 = 74

6th Kurt Pugsley (250f Yamaha)                   35 + 32 = 67        
» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Motocross
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400