McClurg wins South Midland Championship Opener

Tuesday April 18, 2017 at 4:11pm
McClurg wins South Midland Championship Opener
On the hottest day of 2017 the SMC Championships finally got under way at Badby with Northampton Motorcyclists Club. As last year the meeting featured the Eastern Centre NGR Series, though the weather was a marked contrast from the rain and mud of twelve months ago. Track prep started off just about perfect, though it dried out towards the end in the baking sun.

Reigning South Midlands Centre Champion Michael McClurg made it clear that he intends to retain the no. 1 plate this year. Michael took wins in all three Expert races, despite some close battles with Charlie Putnam who finished second each time out. Jack Gregory finished third overall with a couple of top three places. In the Junior A races Riley Lowe and Sam Harwood finished on equal points with a win and a second place each. Rob Hollis finished third each time from Cameron Curtis. Robert Morris took two wins in the Junior B group, followed by a close three way battle between Brad Willis, Aaron Wills and Tom King. They finished in that order overall.

In the NGR class Liam Walker took a hat-trick of wins on his way to first overall. Adam Gordon took second overall with two second places, from Aaron Hopkins who managed to take second in the final leg. Ryan Griffiths was equally dominant in the O40 class taking wins in all three races. Cliff Lester got faster as the day went on, being the only rider to challenge Ryan. Cliff finished second overall ahead of Tony Leishman who rarely misses the podium. In the O50 class Fraser Law took the overall after some very close racing with Greg Cox. Fraser twice had to come from behind to take Greg in the closing stages. Michael Allport finished third overall and won the final race. Nigel Miller is rarely beaten in the O60 class and this time proved to be no different. Nigel took all three wins from Reg Willis and Roger Knibbs.

Despite never finishing in the top three, Callum McClurg used consistency to take the overall. Brother Michael win two of the races but failed to finish the other after more close battles with second race winner Charlie Putnam.  Jacob Wills took a fine second overall from Team Renthal’s Ian Tindle. Tony Leishman won the overall once again in his specialist 2 Stroke class. Nigel Miller took second overall from Christian Livesey.


Expert: 1 Michael McClurg, 2 Charlie Putnam, 3 Jack Gregory, 4 John Hinz, 5 Simon Wyse, 6 Connor Dickens

Junior A: 1 Riley Lowe, 2 Sam Harwood, 3 Rob Hollis, 4 Cameron Curtis, 5 Callum McClurg, 6 Paul Atkinson

Junior B: 1 Robert Morris, 2 Brad Willis, 3 Aaron Wills, 4 Tom King, 5 Miles Woodhouse, 6 Matty Philips

NGR: 1 Liam Walker, 2 Adam Gordon, 3 Aaron Hopkins, 4 Tim Clarke, 5 Lee Keyton, 6 Paul Hubbard

Premier O40: 1 Ryan Griffiths, 2 Cliff Lester, 3 Tony Leishman, 4 Paul Kroner, 5 Stuart  Scott, 6 Christian Livesey

Elite O50: 1 Fraser Law, 2 Greg Cox, 3 Michael Allport, 4 Tom Lowe, 5 Trevor Shephard, 6 Steve Gilbey

Super O60: 1 Nigel Miller, 2 Reg Willis, 3 Roger Knibbs, 4 Trevor Roberts

U40: 1 Callum McClurg, 2 Jacob Wills, 3 Ian Tindle, 4 James Lewis, 5 Michael McClurg, 6 Charlie Putnam

2 Stroke: 1 Tony Leishman, 2 Nigel Miller, 3 Christian Livesey, 4 Ian Tindle, 5 Connor Dickens, 6 Tom Harwood

Workers: 1 Fraser Law, 2 Cameron Curtis, 3 Helen Morgan, 4 James Higgins, 5 Roger Knibbs

Report: Fraser Law



» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Motocross
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400