Judd British Premier Cup Heads to Little Silver for Round Two

Wednesday April 19, 2017 at 8:29am
Judd British Premier Cup Heads to Little Silver for Round Two
Taking the show off in a South Westerly direction, round two of the Judd British Premier Cup rolls into Little Silver Moto Park this weekend. Located near Exeter, the “old style” grassy hillside course is a firm favourite with traditionalists, and with a clear view of most of the action, it's great for spectators too.


Following a sparkling round one display, where he claimed three heat wins in the Auto under 7's, as well as mixing it up brilliantly with the older guys, Archie Britton leads the way. Tightly bunched together behind Archie and looking to improve, Hayden Statt, Harley Smith, Lucas Lee and Riley Loftus fill the next four championship places respectively.


Topping the points in the Auto under 8's, Jayden Jones was also a three times race winner at round one. Sitting in series second Zane Stephens will be all out to improve on his single race win thus far. The top two can expect a serious challenge coming from the likes of Sonny Rooney, Aimus Peckham, Franky Jubb and Austin Beasty. 


Judd Racing pilot Ollie Colmer was the stand out performer in the Junior 65's at round one. His three race wins and a third translate into a healthy series lead as McKenzie Marshall holds a single point advantage over the championships third placed runner Tyla Hooley. Billy Moriarty was the other heat winner at round one, since then though he's been plagued with injury.


There's yet more joy for Judd Racing sponsored pilots as Bailey Johnson tops the pile in the s/w 85's. Johnson has a good 18 point lead over Leon Ongley as Harley Ruley holds series third just 22 points off the top spot. James Barker sits in series fourth a further six points back and all four guys along with Jude Morris should be fighting it out for podium places.


With the round one victor – Jack Grayshon – unfortunately out injured, the series lead in the b/w85's is up for grabs. Following his podium runner up show at Preston Docks Ben Clark is the effective series leader, that said, it's all very close on points. Billy Duke will fancy his chances of claiming the new top spot, as will Billy Carter and Mitchell Raine.


If round one was anything to go by, there shouldn't be much to choose between Danny Clarke and Preston Williams as they go bar to bar in the 125cc rookies. Clarke goes into round two with a slender two point advantage, also look out for Ethan Tollet, Luke Taylor, Joseph Butler and Joseph Davis as they scrap away for a possible podium finish.


In the 250f rookies, Josh Greedy really caught the eye as he dominated the series opener. Scoring three wins and a second he was in a class of his own, Kieran Yorke. Kurt Griffiths, Toby Avis and Sam Ongley are the next four top championship chasers respectively. That's not forgetting Sam Price and Harry Pritchard, they both had poor first rounds, watch out for them as they try to improve their lot.


In the Junior 125's - racing with the Adult 125's – Drew Anderson was the star of the round one show. A clean sweep of the Junior races along with a pulsating victory over the Adults in his final outing makes him certainly one to watch too. In the Junior 125's Callum Beekan sits in championship second.


Battling it out with Anderson there was an epic show coming both Jim Davis and Troy Willerton as the TM pair battled for supremacy at the series opener. Davis was the narrow winner taking control in the Adult 125's, Willerton is in series second.


In the British Clubman Championship Josh Taylor has a healthy 24 point lead over Cody Ling in the MX1 standings. Occupying series third Daniel Townsend is a further 17 points behind Ling as Jac Bas tops the MX2 pile. Bas has a 26 point advantage over second placed Tony Cadman with Connor Hallingham in series third.


Words and Photos Mike Gurney

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Motocross
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400
Email: admin@acu.org.uk