Thornhill Looking to Close Gap on Kellett at Landrake

Tuesday March 14, 2017 at 4:47pm
Thornhill Looking to Close Gap on Kellett at Landrake
On Sunday March 19th round 2 of the St Blazey MX Premier motocross Championship will take place on home soil in Cornwall at the ever popular Landrake Moto Parc. As with the opening round entries are nigh on full which includes several wildcards in all classes


Going in to round 2 it’s the St Blazey MX/S J Hodder Husqvarna of Todd Kellett who leads the Expert Championship by 9 points who for sure will be looking to extend his tally in Cornwall, but hoping to close that gap will be the likes of Dan Thornhill (Pictured No 95) on the Cab Screens Husqvarna who currently lies in 2nd, Tommy Alba on the D S C Cornwall Kawasaki, the Tony Maunders Racing Suzuki of Jamie Skuse, Michael Ellis on the P & H Motorcycles Ktm, the Cheddar MX Ktm of Corey Hockey, Kelvin Townsend, Will Worden on the R C Motorhomes/Gibbs Performance Ktm, James Kensington on the Tony Maunders/M R racing Ktm and Luke Sturgeon to name a few plus wildcards 2015 Premier Expert Champion Shane Carless on the Marsh MX Honda and Jake Shipton on the Crescent/RHR Yamaha who was denied a hat trick of wins at the opening round due to his Chain Snapping with many more expected.


The 2-Stroke Championship seemed very popular at the opening round and was to produce some really close racing. Ty Kellett on the 98 Vision Husqvarna was to come away with the overall and leads the Championship by 5 points from the JCT Developments/Inchains Yamaha of Ben Milward who was to denie Ty a hat trick of wins, but right with Milward is last year’s Champion Leighton Holmes who trails Milward by just one point going in to the second round. Other riders looking to do well include Tristan Rowe on the Mark Rowe & Son Honda, Fraser Gardiner, Gareth Northam, Ricky Brown and Leigh Williams on the J D Racing Ktm to name a few.


In the Over 35 Championship its last year’s Champion on the TyreMarks/St Blazey MX Honda Wayne Shimell who heads the standings after scoring maximum points at the opening round, but he was pushed in all three races by the Cheddar MX Ktm of Darren Banwell who will be looking to do well at Landrake as will the likes of James Price and Jonathan Morrissey. In the Over 40’s its leapey Leigh Williams who sits on top, but denying him a clean sweep at round 1 was 2016 Champion Stuart Rawlings who trails by just 3 points. In the Over 45’s its Richard Green on the T R Green Engineering Husqvarna who notched up maximum points and leads the standings by 9 points from Mark Gleadhill and Laurence Watkins who for sure will be battling it out again, where as in the Over 50’s there are many wildcard entries including Keith Hanson and Cornishman Mark Roberts who will be on home soil and for sure will give Championship leader Steve Elford a few problems as will Rob Lewis on the Tony Maunders Racing Honda who sits second in the standings just 8 points adrift.


In the Junior Championship it’s the D S C Cornwall Kawasaki of Jake Curtis-Stevens who showed his class at the opening round who goes in to round 2 leading the Championship by 17 points after winning two out of the three races who for sure will be hoping to be consistent in Cornwall, but there is plenty of other talent capable of doing well including Luke Oldfield who sits second in the standings, Ross Kersey, Jordan Barrs, Scott Ardren. Jake Parker and Jamie Dixon plus many more.


Landrake Moto Parc has easy access with excellent viewing and will be signposted off the A38 South of the Tamar Bridge (Sat Nav PL12 5EP) with the first race at 10-30am. (Spaces still available, contact Greta on 01884 840078)

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Motocross
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400