Bumper Entry for Round 1 of the Darley Moor Road Race Championship

Tuesday March 28, 2017 at 10:30am
Bumper Entry for Round 1 of the Darley Moor Road Race Championship
With the flag about to drop on another season of racing at the Darley Moor Motorsports Centre the initial signs are very promising following a huge entry of competitors for the Test Day and Round 1 of the Darley Moor Motorcycle Road Race Championship on Saturday 1st and Sunday 2nd April 2017 at the circuit near Ashbourne, DE6 2ET.

With the variety of machinery on track there is sure to be something for anybody with even a remote interest in motorsport: two, three and four wheels; pure racing to production machines; classic machines through to the latest superbikes; two stroke and four stroke engines.

Then there will be the huge range of competitors’ abilities; some Novices embarking on their very first foray onto the track alongside regular Darley Moor competitors who maybe on the verge of breaking into the British Superbike scene, or even using this first Round as a shakedown for their new machinery and themselves before participating against International competition for the coming season. There will be the regular competitors that everybody knows how quick they are, but then somebody may turn up in the paddock for Saturday’s Test Day, new to the track, but could quickly get to grips with it and become the ‘person to beat’.

Currently there are a number of British riders competing at World level that have seen their careers pass through the gates of Darley Moor including; Cal Crutchlow - MotoGP; Chaz Davies - World Superbike; the Lowes twins, Alex - World Superbike and Sam – MotoGP; Kyle Ryde – World Supersport; Luke Stapleford – World Supersport and Tom Sykes – 2013 World Superbike Champion and 3x Runner Up. Will any of the current Darley Moor competitors make it onto the world stage?

So far, 14 classes already have their respective Champions entered to begin the defence of their titles;

Steven Proctor – Peak Cup Champion

Carl Morris – Open Solo Champion

Ray Thomas/Neil Aslaksen – Open Sidecar Champions

Chris Moore – Lightweight Champion

Lloyd Shelley – Formula 600 Sound of Thunder Champion

David Carson – Formula Darley and Mini Sound of Thunder Champion

Howard Baker/Mike Killingsworth – Formula 600 Sidecar Champions

Andrew Lowe – Pre Injection 600 Champion

Jamie Pearson - Pre98’s up to 1300cc Champion

Glenn Atkinson – Classic 250 Champion

Brian Prescott – Classic 350 Champion

David Bradley – Classic 1000 Champion

In addition to the regular championship classes there will also be the first round of the Curtis Milner Trophy, in memory of a young Darley Moor racer who lost his life in a road accident. The Trophy will be decided over the combined results of the second Formula 600 race at Round 1 and Round 2. The current holder, Jamie Hodson has also entered the meeting and will be looking to defend the Trophy.

Saturday’s Test Day is scheduled to run between 10am – 5pm, whilst Sunday’s action begins with Practice at 10am, with the first race scheduled for 11.30am.

For the 2017 season the Darley Moor Motorcycle Road Race Championship is a 7 round series. The full list of all motorcycle activity at the circuit is as follows;

Sat 1st April Test Day Darley Moor MCRRC

Sun 2nd April Round 1 Darley Moor MCRRC (incl Rd 1 of the Curtis Milner Trophy and UK 2 Stroke Cup)

Mon 1st May Round 2 Darley Moor MCRRC (incl Rd 2 of the Curtis Milner Trophy and Thunderfest)

Sat 20th May Motor Cycle Races Vintage MCC

Sun 21st May Motor Cycle Races Vintage MCC

Sun 18th June Round 3 Darley Moor MCRRC (incl The 50cc Cup)

Sun 16th July Round 4 Darley Moor MCRRC

Sun 13th August Round 5 Darley Moor MCRRC (incl Graham Bywater Trophy)

Sun 17th September Round 6 Darley Moor MCRRC (incl UK 2 Stroke Cup)

Sat 7th October Test Day Darley Moor MCRRC

Sun 8th October Round 7 Darley Moor MCRRC (incl Jake Hingley Trophy and the Stars at Darley 2017)

The cost of adult admission to Darley Moor for all meetings, except the end of season Stars at Darley meeting, is £12.00 per day, children under 16 are free, and Senior Citizens are £8.00. Parking and Paddock Transfer is free and a programme costs just £3.00. Adult admission to the Test Days is £6.00, Senior Citizens 65 and over £4.00.

For the Stars at Darley event on 9th October the adult admission price is £16.00 and Senior Citizens £10.00. Advance Tickets at discount prices are also available on-line just visit the Darley Race Shop for full details - http://www.darleymoorstore.co.uk/.  

A 2017 Season Pass for Darley Moor is also available for £75 including VAT (£48 incl VAT Senior Citizens) and admits to ALL motor cycle events at the circuit including test days and can be purchased online or by sending a cheque made payable to Darley Moor MCRRC Ltd, together with the full name of the season pass holders to: Season Passes, Darley Moor MCRRC Ltd, Anvil House, Derby Road, Old Tupton, Chesterfield, S42 6LA

There is ample room for spectators to camp and caravan at Darley Moor over the race weekends. The cost is £5.00 per unit per night. Camping will normally be available from 4.00 pm on the Friday evening until 10.00 am on the day after the meeting or by special arrangement with the circuit management – Call 01335 343833.

Darley Moor is one of the few circuits in which dogs are welcome, provided they are kept on a lead at all times during race day and the owners act in a responsible manner.

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Road Race
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400
Email: admin@acu.org.uk