Pinhard Trophy Nominations Open Now

Thursday August 18, 2016 at 4:06pm
Pinhard Trophy Nominations Open Now
Once again we are seeking nominations for one of the UK’s most prestigious awards - THE PINHARD TROHY which is in the gift of Sunbeam MCC


This award has been presented since 1950 to the best Under-21 year old sporting motorcyclist competing under ACU or SACU jurisdiction. (See Rules)

Last year’s winner was James Shanes and was the culmination of a fantastic year – Two British titles, an FIM Gold Medal as part of the team that brought the Don Godden Trophy back to the UK for the first time, an FIME Silver Medal plus a host of top results on the domestic scene. The Judges were particularly impressed by James commitment at grass-roots level. Setting up and dismantling tracks for racing and attending promotional events. James had been well placed in the Pinhard standings for the last three years but getting better each year. Yet another success for consistency and improvement. On hearing of his success James said “I am delighted to have won the Pinhard Trophy. I have had the most amazing year, and this really is the icing on the cake – thank you Sunbeam MCC”

Previous winners are an honours roll of motorcycling greats over the last 60 years who have excelled in all spheres of the sport including Mike Hailwood, Jeff Smith, Bill Martin, Roy Peplow, Dan Shorey, Scott Ellis, Alexz Wigg and a host of others who have gone on to be national and international household names.


The Trophy is a huge 3 gallon cup together with a retention replica Tankard.  Sunbeam MCC awards the trophy in memory of Frederick William Pinhard who died in 1948 whilst serving as Secretary of the Club.


All sections of the ACU together with the Scottish-ACU are invited to submit entries as well as anyone who feels personally eligible to make an entry. Entries can be for active competitors or administrators under-21 at the beginning of November 2015 (see Rules).


Editors of leading motorcycle periodicals are invited as judges together with General Secretary of the ACU and three officials appointed by Sunbeam MCC.


Entry Forms, Regulations and a List of Previous Winners are available from Sunbeam’s Trustee for the Trophy, Tony Lloyd who can be contacted on or 07751300233


Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400