Thrilling SandAce in prospect and a new solo champion is certain on May 21st

Monday May 16, 2016 at 10:19am
Thrilling SandAce in prospect and a new solo champion is certain on May 21st
The 11th running of the Condor Ferries SandAce – ACU British Sandracing Championship take place on Saturday 21st May at Vazon Bay, and the line-up is probably the strongest in the event’s eleven year history.

Reigning 500cc Solo champion, James Shanes will not be defending his title as he has contracted to ride at Schessel, Germany that day and for various reasons, including injury and retirement, no previous winners have entered, so there will certainly be a new solo champion.

Included in the 500cc solo line-up this year are three European International riders, Christian Hulshorst and Jens Benekker from Germany together with France’s Jerome Lespinasse.  They are joined by UK riders including current and ex speedway riders as well as Australian Rodney Macdonald who always goes well here.

Add three times World Youth Grasstrack champion Zach Wajtknecht who finished second last year in his debut on Vazon, plus three Channel Islanders, including our own Bob Teed and the 1992 British Sand Race champion Anthony Bougourd who conceived the SandAce back in 2006, Jamie Griffiths is the sole Jersey competitor and with a new engine this season he is quick and knows Vazon well.

Sadly missing this year is Mitch Godden due to his move to 500cc sidecars. Mitch has raced in every SandAce since its inaugural event in 2006, winning no less than five times.

1000cc Sidecar action will as usual be extremely fast and competitive with the four SandAce “family” teams, of Rod & Billy Winterburns and Gareth Winterburn & Liam Brown plus Rob Wilson & Terry Saunters and Robbie Wilson & Bradley Steer.  Some very fast teams, all of whom could take the title away from reining champions Gareth & Billy Winterburn, will take to the sand including Myles Simmons & Kevin Woodley and Will Offen & Steve Hargreaves.  Making a return to top-level racing are veterans Neville Penfold & Adam Cowper-Smith. The new Guernsey team of Clint Blondel & Ross Young are also taking part and will be the first local sidecar team to race in the SandAce.

Unusually for an event of this stature, the club are not able to charge admission so have to rely on sponsorship and donations on the day, Condor Ferries are the main, title sponsor and are joined by many firms including investment companies, chartered accountants, insurance brokers, motor traders, the Guernsey Sports Commission and even an English speedway supplier from Kings Lynn.

Each rider/team will take part in four heats with the highest scoring 8 solos and 6 sidecars qualifying for their respective “sudden death” finals. The finishing positions in the finals determine the overall result.

The first race will start at 11.30am

The full meeting line up is as follows.

500cc SOLOS

171        Andrew Whitaker

2             Anthony Bougourd (Guernsey)

17           Bob Teed (Guernsey)

47           Callum Walker

92           Charley Powell

41           Christian Hulsehorst (Germany)

12           Daniel Winterton

120         Dave Hammond


82           David Speight

69           James Wright

70           Jamie Griffiths (Jersey)

34           Jens Benneker (Germany)

59           Jerome Lespinasse (France)

107        Josh Dingle

181        Matt Saul

11          Paul Cooper


5             Rob Fortune

14           Rodney McDonald

200        Scott Creswell

7             Steve Boxall

109        Zach Wajtknecht

Meeting Reserves

8             Dave Cleal (Guernsey)

1             Colin Teed (Guernsey)


10           Clint Blondel & Ross Young (Guernsey)

49           Gareth Winterburn & Liam Brown

3             Lee Jones & Matt Winch

9             Myles Simmons & Kevin Woodley

12           Neal Owen & Jason Farwell

2             Neville Penfold & Adam Cowper-Smith

375        Pete Shaw & Michael Chittenden

24           Rob Wilson & Terry Saunters

42           Robbie Wilson & Bradley Steer

48           Rod Winterburn & Billy Winterburn

80           Will Offen & Steve Hargreaves




» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Track Racing
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400