The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us
[Read the current ACU COVID-19 Statement here]
Due to the current health crisis our offices will be at minimum manning. To avoid any unnecessary contact, we ask that if you have a query, or need to contact us for any reason, please email and it will be forwarded to the relevant department for their attention. We are not accepting visitors without an appointment to keep the office Covid-19 Secure.

Pinhard Trophy Seeking Nominations for 2020

Tuesday September 1, 2020 at 11:14am
Pinhard Trophy Seeking Nominations for 2020
Once again Sunbeam MCC are seeking nominations for one of the UK’s most prestigious awards - THE PINHARD TROPHY which is in the gift of Sunbeam MCC. This award has been presented since 1950 to the best Under-21-year-old sporting motorcyclist competing under ACU or SACU jurisdiction.

Of course, we are living in extra-ordinary times and it is even more important to encourage and reward young talent. Under our normal rule’s entries are accepted from anyone who is under-21 during the subject year. This year however due to the season’s lack of competitive events we will accept entries from those who were under-21 in the period since November 1st 2018. (See Rules). The Judges will be particularly interested in work done in the community during the current crisis.

Last year’s winner was 19-year-old Trials Rider Toby Martyn.  Riding for the Beta Factory Team, he contested World, European and British Championship Trials, finishing joint third in the World. Toby's response to learning that he was to receive the Pinhard Trophy was " Fantastic, I am honoured to receive this prestigious award, so many past winners have gone on to have massive careers and hopefully I can continue this. Big thanks to everyone who has considered me worthy of this great award, and thanks to the Sunbeam Club Members for continuing to present this very special trophy".

Previous winners are an honours roll of motorcycling greats over the last 70 years who have excelled in all spheres of the sport including Mike Hailwood, Jeff Smith, Roy Peplow, Dan Shorey, Alexz Wigg, 3 Lampkin’s and a host of others who have gone on to be national and international household names.

The Trophy is a huge 3-gallon cup together with a retention replica Tankard.  Sunbeam MCC awards the trophy in memory of Frederick William Pinhard who died in 1948 whilst serving as Secretary of the Club.

All sections of the ACU together with the Scottish-ACU are invited to submit entries as well as anyone who feels personally eligible to make an entry. Entries can be for active competitors or administrators. Closing date is November 1st 2020.

Editors of leading motorcycle periodicals are invited as judges together with the General Secretary of the ACU and three officials appointed by Sunbeam MCC.

Entry Forms, Regulations and a List of Previous Winners are available from Sunbeam’s website or Trustee for the Trophy, Tony Lloyd who can be contacted on or 07751300233

Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400