The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us

EMRA Heads to Mallory Park for Round 4 on Sunday

Wednesday July 3, 2019 at 1:15pm
EMRA Heads to Mallory Park for Round 4 on Sunday
Mallory Park hosts round four of the East Midland Racing Association championships on Sunday 7th July with a packed nineteen race programme.

Louis Dawson was the star of the third round meeting last month, winning three races out of four on his 1000cc Aprilia, and his main rivals in the Buildbase Mallory Trophy races on Sunday will be 2016 sand 2017 Buildbase champion Lee Wilson ,and Phil Crowe, fresh back from gaining a bronze replica on the Isle of Man and Ryan Oliver, who is currently heading the Tamworth Yamaha Allcomers championship. The same riders will meet again in the Allcomers races.

Not only are there more CB500s than any other class, to the point where there are three races per meeting, but they are also the most evenly matched, as the championship tables show with thirteen points covering the top four riders in the Bridgestone/Fast Bikes championship .At the June meeting Darren Conneely won the first race holding first place all the way, but the gap to Darren Faulkner was less than a second at the end while Josh Langman, Martin Radford and Wayne Sutton were all within two seconds of the winner. In the second race Darren Faulkner led from the start and when Martin Bazely fell at Edwina’s while at the head of the pursuing pack, Faulkner was able to get away but behind him a pack of four riders. Martin Radford, Robert Carver, Shay Commins and Scott Gregg came past in a different order every lap, finally finishing in the order above.  Race three was another win for Conneely with last year’s champion Wayne Sutton in second place. Faulkner holds top spot in the championship, five points up on Radford who in turn is five points ahead of Paul Sawyer. In the D J Emmanuelle over-40 section Sawyer is just the one point ahead of Faulkner, with Radford four points behind. Martin had a good weekend at the Thundersport meeting here last week with a win, two seconds and a fourth in the Senior class and he is up to seventh in their championship.

 The same riders had two more races in the 500 twins class and Faulkner won the first of these under surveillance all the way from Wayne Sutton while Conneely worked his way through the field from thirteenth place on lap one to grab third on the final lap. The second of these saw Conneely win after being pursued all race by Faulkner and Sutton. Ian Fairgrieve tops the championship table half a dozen points in front of Darren Faulkner.

Luke Burnett was in great form at the June meeting, winning the first open 600 race as well as both rookie races and finished third in the other other 600 race behind Rich Baker and Aran Sadler. The Lincoln rider will be looking for four out of four on Sunday, but the return of former EMRA600 champion Jed Bird will make that just a little bit harder.

Jodie Fieldhouse has won every 450 race to date on her Moto 3 Honda, but sadly Jodie will be absent having broken her arm crashing at the Brands BSB meeting in sight of the chequered flag in her best ever Motostar position of fifth. Annabel Thomas is likely to maintain the dominance of female riders in this class, backed up by Kim Rose who won the 125 class in both races in June.

There are only two riders who can come away from Sunday’s meeting with a maximum 200 points for the season. One is Steve Brittain who has won every pre-inection/steel frame race on his 1000 Yamaha, followed home on every occasion by Jordan Watling; the other is Charlie tranter in the Formula 125 class, whose main rival is Michael Tranter – good to keep things in the family .

Qualifying begins at 9.30; racing shortly after 11am

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Road Race
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400