James Dunn Claims First EMX250 Victory on a 2 Stroke

Tuesday September 19, 2017 at 2:11pm
James Dunn Claims First EMX250 Victory on a 2 Stroke
The last round of the EMX250 Championship was paired up with that of MXGP, MX2, and WMX on the challenging hillside of Villars sous Ecot at the weekend.

Taking the overall win was GL12 Racing’s James Dunn on his 2-stroke machine. During the weekend’s EMX250 racing consistency was the key. In race 1 James Dunn rode a solid race to finish in second place. Dunn originally started in 2nd but dropped to 5th before climbing back to 2nd while fellow Brit Josh Spinks took 4th.

In race 2 James Dunn had an issue on the start and was coming back from 17th on the first lap but by lap 5 was up to 5th. Dunn continued to move forward and would take 3rd place and the overall win with the consistent 2-3 finish. Dunn’s victory made him the first person to claim victory in the EMX250 class on board a 250 2 stroke.

After the racing weekend the FIM Europe President Dr. Wolfgang Srb stated: "The successful EMX250 class will continue for the years to come to be open for 2 stroke as well as 4 stroke engines. This "Parity Concept" gives riders and teams the chance to select their favourite bike. It is our desire to keep the sport as affordable as possible and to give the manufacturers an equal chance to present their machines in the best 250cc Continental Motocross Championship in the world. EMX250 is also the perfect stepping stone into the FIM MX2 World Championship."

EMX250 Overall Top Ten: 1. James Dunn (GBR, KTM), 42 points; 2. Simone Zecchina (ITA, YAM), 38 p.; 3. Anthony Bourdon (FRA, HUS), 34 p.; 4. Tristan Charboneau (USA, KAW), 33 p.; 5. Ruben Fernandez (ESP, KAW), 31 p.; 6. Morgan Lesiardo (ITA, KAW), 26 p.; 7. Tom Koch (GER, KTM), 22 p.; 8. Karlis Sabulis (LAT, YAM), 21 p.; 9. Pierre Goupillon (FRA, KTM), 20 p.; 10. Josh Spinks (GBR, KTM), 20 p.

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Motocross
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400
Email: admin@acu.org.uk