The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us

Local Riders Chasing Silverware at Darley Moor

Monday July 4, 2016 at 4:05pm
Local Riders Chasing Silverware at Darley Moor
The Darley Moor Motor Cycle Road Race Club Championship enters the second half of the season this weekend as Round 5 of the 8 Round Championship takes place on Sunday 10th July 2016 at the Darley Moor Motor Sports Centre, near Ashbourne (DE6 2ET) and there are plenty of local riders chasing the silverware and championship titles.

Carl Morris enjoys a healthy advantage at the head of the Peak Cup and the Open Solo Championship tables. With two victories, a 2nd and a 3rd place at the previous double header these points are going to be difficult to claw back for his competitors. MJ Morgan and Alan Hughes are currently level on points and have a 27 point gap to close on Morris in the Open Solo Championship. Steve Proctor is his closest competitor in the Peak Cup class, requiring 23 points before he is level with Morris.

Andrew Lowe has also put himself at the head of two championships, but does not have such a large advantage. He leads the Pre Injection 600 class by just 4 points from Jamie Pearson and Mark Pattinson. In the Pre98’s (up to 1300cc) class it is again Pearson who trails him, although by 13 points this time, however after claiming 4 victories last time out Pearson is going to be a very serious challenger to Lowe’s hopes. Despite not being at the previous meeting Chris Moore still enjoys a 21 point lead in the Pre98’s (Up to 500cc) class.

Tony Limer is currently joint leader of the Lightweight Championship with Wednesbury’s Neil Lloyd, but Nick Gilman is just 7 points adrift of the pair. Limer looks to be a very strong contender after recording 4 victories at the previous Rounds, whilst Lloyd and Gilman both took a pair of 2nd & 3rd places each, this class is surely to go down to the final Round.

Lloyd Shelley has an 8 point lead in the Sound of Thunder Championship, but you can expect this to be extended after he dominated the races last time out. Shelley also took victories in the Formula 600 races at the last Round, but these were some very hard fought wins, battling it out with the current championship leader Steve Proctor, who holds a very slim 3 point advantage over Shelley.

After securing three very hard fought wins at the previous double header Graeme Wilson heads the GP125 Championship table, albeit by just 5 points from Gavin Mills. Their battle at the previous rounds certainly ensured the spectators were kept entertained.

After failing to finish one of the races at the last meeting, but recording two wins and a 2nd place Antony Porter’s advantage at the head of the Steel Framed 600 Championship is just 14 points over Dave Marsden, with Dean Ephgrave a further 4 points back in 3rd place.

The Classic Championship classes are being dominated by local competitors; David Bradley leading the Classic 1000 class by a huge 54 points; Brian Prescott heads the Classic 350 series by 39 points but Gordon Thorpe has just a 3 point advantage in the Classic 500 over Gary Widdowson. The final class, Classic 250 is headed by Glenn Atkinson who holds a 9 point lead over Geoff Hadwin.

As always the on track action begins with Practice begins at 10am, whilst the first race is scheduled for 11.30 am. The cost of adult admission to Darley Moor for all meetings, except the end of season Stars at Darley meeting, is £12.00 per day, children under 16 are free, and Senior Citizens are £8.00. Parking and Paddock Transfer is free and a programme costs just £3.00. Adult admission to the Test Days is £6.00, Senior Citizens 65 and over £4.00.

For the Stars at Darley event on 9th October the adult admission price is £16.00 and Senior Citizens £10.00.

Advance Tickets at discount prices are also available on-line just visit the Darley Race Shop for full details -  

With Darley Moor being one of the few circuits in which dogs are welcome, provided they are kept on a lead at all times during race day and the owners act in a responsible manner, it can be another excuse to get away from the house and enjoy the summer. There is ample room for spectators to camp and caravan at Darley Moor over the race weekends. The cost is £5.00 per unit per night. Camping will normally be available from 4.00 pm on the Friday evening until 10.00 am on the day after the meeting or by special arrangement with the circuit management – Call 01335 343833.

2016 Championship standings after Round 4

Peak Cup

1st Carl Morris, 61pts; 2nd Steve Proctor, 38pts; 3rd Jim Hodson, 24pts;

Open Solo

1st Carl Morris, 66pts; 2nd, MJ Morgan, 29pts; 3rd, Alan Hughes, 29pts

Open Sidecars

1st Ray Thomas/Neil Aslaksen, 39pts; 2nd Rupert Archer/Steve Thomas, 27pts; 3rd Nev Jones/Tom Bryant, 24pts


1st Neil Lloyd, 36pts; 2nd Tony Limer, 36pts; 3rd Nick Gilman, 29pts


1st, Graeme Wilson 47pts; 2nd Gavin Mills, 42pts; 3rd, Emma Franklin, 31pts

Formula 600

1st Steve Proctor, 45pts; 2nd Lloyd Shelley, 42pts; 3rd Jamie Hodson, 33pts

Formula Darley

1st David Carson, 61pts; 2nd Kevin Bond, 32pts; 3rd Jamie Hodson, 18pts

Formula 125

1st James Hind, 48pts; 2nd Adam Warner, 36pts; 3rd Matthew Bower, 28pts;           

Formula 600 Sidecars

1st Howard Baker/Mike Killingsworth, 52pts; 2nd Richard Hackney/Andrew Mitchell, 28pts; 3rd Gary Knight/Dan Evanson, 24pts

Steel Framed 600

1st Anthony Porter, 60pts; 2nd Dave Marsden, 46pts; 3rd Dean Ephgrave, 42pts

Pre Injection 600

1st Andrew Lowe, 31pts; 2nd Mark Pattinson, 27pts; 3rd Jamie Pearson, 27pts

Mini Sound of Thunder

1st David Carson, 64pts; 2nd Kevin Bond, 32pts; 3rd Stephen Taylor, 32pts

Sound of Thunder

1st Lloyd Shelley, 54pts; 2nd Jamie Horner, 46pts; 3rd Jay Bellars-Smith, 18pts

Pre 98’s Up to 500cc

1st Chris Moore, 27pts; 2nd David Smith, 6pts

Pre98’s up to 1300cc

1st Andrew Lowe, 40pts; 2nd Jamie Pearson, 27pts; 3rd Mark Brailsford, 21pts

Classic 250

1st Glenn Atkinson, 45pts; 2nd Geoff Hadwin, 36pts; 2nd Mark Cockerton, 35pts

Classic 350

1st Brian Prescott, 57pts; 2nd Jim Barnett, 18pts

Classic 500

1st Gordon Thorpe, 36pts; 2nd Gary Widdowson, 33pts; 3rd Oliver Presswood, 27pts

Classic 1000

1st David Bradley, 69pts; 2nd Andy Bailey, 15pts; 3rd Gary Porter, 12pts
» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Road Race
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400