The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us

2016 Master of Midshires Report

Thursday May 12, 2016 at 12:09pm
2016 Master of Midshires Report
The best of British Grasstrack riders turned out for the Master of Midshires at Victory Field, Ashorne, Warwickshire on Sunday the 8th May - the hottest day of the year. The racing did nothing to cool the temperature. All classes provided great action for the large crowd.


250cc Solo Class carried on from last years event with Jed Collins, David Knowles and Luke Harris doing battle and the result was same with Jed Collins taking victory in the final.


350cc Solo over four points scoring legs was won by Martin Williams only beaten in his last heat by runner up Dave Mears.  Ryan Ashcroft was a creditable 3rd his best result so far.


Upright Class was won by the stylish former speedway star Peter Carr winning all his heats and the final but he was made to work hard for his win by runner up Mark Giles and third placed Steve Green.


Youth Juniors Mickie Simpson and Danny Curl battled in every race with only a bike length between them.  Mickie came out on top, Danny a close second, followed by the next generation of the Taylor racing family Cameron Taylor.


Youth Intermediates Class was dominated by Charlie Brooks with 2nd Chad Wirtzfeld and 3rd Eli Meadows.


500cc Solo Class. He did it again. James Shanes coming from the back in the final took victory and became Master of Midshires champion for the second year running, followed by Birmingham speedway star Zach Wajtknecht and another speedway rider Steve Boxhall.


One of the favourites for this class was James Wright but he had machine problems just before the final and missed out on a chance to win some of the large prize fund.


1000cc RH Sidecars Class had it all.  Mark Cossar & Carl Blyth had won all their heats up to the final and had not been beaten this year.  Cossar & Blyth led from the tapes but slowed and was overtaken by the pack led by the crowds favourites Rob Bradley & Shaun Simpson, Cossar pulled out with engine problems but this should not take anything away from Rob Bradley & Shaun Simpson’s winning the big prize holding off Rob Wilson & Billy Winterburn and Masters British Champions Colin Blackbourn & Carl Pugh.


Other awards given.

The Dave Harris Trophy - Callum Walker

Harry Dallas Trophy – Peter Carr

Paul Pinfold Memorial Trophy race was won by Mark Cossar & Carl Blyth.


Former World Speedway Champion Sudden Sam Ermolenko handing out the awards.


Although dust was a problem with the hot weather and watering took time between races all finals were run, no one was injured except for the sun burn!!


» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Track Racing
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400