The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us


Tuesday March 29, 2016 at 3:55pm
The flag is about to drop on another thrilling season of high speed motorsport action on two, three and four wheels as the Darley Motor Cycle Road Race Club open the gates next weekend, 2nd – 3rd April 2016, for Round 1 of their 8 round championship at the circuit near Wyaston, Derbyshire (DE6 2ET).

With a huge variety of machinery there is sure to be something of interest for any motorsport fan; from Classic racing machines from the 1960’s through to 125/250GP machines, modern day superbikes, 600/1000cc sidecars and, new for this season the Superkart-UK Clubmans Championships for 125cc & 250cc Karts that have all been meticulously prepared over the winter ready to be used in anger on the track over the next 8 months.

In order to allow the racers to get those final preparations and checks completed, new engines bedded in Saturday 2nd April will be a Test Day, which many of Sunday’s competitors have already booked in for; this is also open to spectators.

Saturday’s Test Day is scheduled to run between 10am – 5pm, whilst Sunday’s action begins with Practice at 10am, with the first race scheduled for 11.30am.

So far, seven of last year’s champions have sent entries in to begin the defence of their respective titles;

Anthony Porter (Chesterfield) - Steel Framed 600 Champion

Brendan Brown (Derby) - 125GP and Open Solo Champion

Simon Bowyer (Newcastle under Lyme) - Peak Cup Champion

Chris Moore (High Peak) - Lightweight and Pre98 (Up to 500cc) Champion

Lloyd Shelley (Burntwood) - Formula 600 Champion

Ray Thomas/Neil Aslaksen (Birkenhead) - Open Sidecar Champions

Howard Baker/Mike Killingsworth (Sutton Coldfield/Lincoln) - Formula 600 Sidecar Champions

However, with a new season there is always the possibility of a ‘new kid on the block’ that surprises everybody with their talent and goes onto create some memorable achievements. Currently there are a number of British riders competing at World level that have seen their careers pass through the gates of Darley Moor, most recently World Supersport competitors Kyle Ryde (Nottingham) and Luke Stapleford (Leicester); the fastest twins in the World, Moto2 title favourite Sam Lowes and brother Alex (Lincoln), a World Superbike front runner; 2013 World Superbike Champion, Tom Sykes (Leamington Spa) and Chaz Davies (Knighton), another World Superbike front runner, plus MotoGP star Cal Crutchlow (Isle of Man).

For the 2016 season the Darley Moor Motorcycle Road Race Championship is an 8 round series, including a ‘double header’, with Rounds 3 and 4 being held over the weekend, 18th – 19th June. The full list of all motorcycle activity at the circuit is as follows;

Sat 2nd April Test Day Darley Moor MCRRC

Sun 3rd April Round 1 Darley Moor MCRRC (incl Rd 1 of the Curtis Milner Trophy)

Mon 2nd May Round 2 Darley Moor MCRRC (incl Rd 2 of the Curtis Milner Trophy)

Sat 21st May Motor Cycle Races Vintage MCC

Sun 22nd May Motor Cycle Races Vintage MCC

Sat 18th June Round 3 Darley Moor MCRRC

Sun 19th June Round 4 Darley Moor MCRRC

Sun 10th July Round 5 Darley Moor MCRRC

Sun 7th August Round 6 Darley Moor MCRRC

Sun 4th September Round 7 Darley Moor MCRRC (incl the Graham Bywater Trophy)

Sat 8th October Test Day Darley Moor MCRRC

Sun 9th October Round 8 Darley Moor MCRRC (Stars at Darley)

The cost of adult admission to Darley Moor for all meetings, except the end of season Stars at Darley meeting, is £12.00 per day, children under 16 are free, and Senior Citizens are £8.00. Parking and Paddock Transfer is free and a programme costs just £3.00. Adult admission to the Test Days is £6.00, Senior Citizens 65 and over £4.00.

For the Stars at Darley event on 9th October the adult admission price is £16.00 and Senior Citizens £10.00.

Advance Tickets at discount prices are also available on-line just visit the Darley Race Shop for full details -

A 2016 Season Pass for Darley Moor is also available and admits to ALL motor cycle events at the circuit including test days and can be purchased online or by sending a cheque made payable to Darley Moor MCRRC Ltd, together with the full name of the season pass holders to:

Season Passes, Darley Moor MCRRC Ltd, Anvil House, Derby Road, Old Tupton, Chesterfield, S42 6LA

There is ample room for spectators to camp and caravan at Darley Moor over the race weekends. The cost is £5.00 per unit per night. Camping will normally be available from 4.00 pm on the Friday evening until 10.00 am on the day after the meeting or by special arrangement with the circuit management – Call 01335 343833.

Darley Moor is one of the few circuits in which dogs are welcome, provided they are kept on a lead at all times during race day and the owners act in a responsible manner.

2015 Championship Final standings

Peak Cup

1st Simon Bowyer; 2nd Brendan Brown; 3rd Jim Hodson

Open Solo

1st Brendan Brown; 2nd, Simon Bowyer; 3rd, Carl Morris

Open Sidecars

1st Ray Thomas/Neil Aslaksen; 2nd Anthony Eades/Nick Roberts; 3rd Tony Thompson/Jack Jones


1st Chris Moore; 2nd Bruce Dunn; 3rd Darren Spruce


1st Brendan Brown; 2nd Derek Clark; 3rd Richard Mortimer

Formula 600

1st Lloyd Shelly; 2nd Steven Proctor; 3rd Paul Gibbs

Formula Darley

1st Brad Vicars; 2nd David Carson; 3rd Stuart Hall

Formula 125

1st James Hind; 2nd George Pidcock; 3rd Benjamin Smith

Formula 600 Sidecars

1st Howard Baker/Mike Killingsworth; 2nd John Chandler/Karl Schofield; 3rd Roy Hanks/Julie Hanks-Elliott

Steel Framed 600

1st Anthony Porter; 2nd Dean Ephgrave; 3rd Steve Price

Pre Injection 600

1st Andy Lowe; 2nd Chris North; 3rd Robert Wise

Mini Sound of Thunder

1st Brad Vicars; 2nd David Carson; 3rd Stuart Hall

Sound of Thunder

1st Paul Gibbs; 2nd Gary Henriksen; 3rd Lloyd Shelley

Pre 98’s Up to 500cc

1st Chris Moore; 2nd Andrew Clarke; 3rd Jamie O’ Brien

Pre98’s up to 1300cc

1st Virgil Stevenson; 2nd Richard Stubbs; 3rd Jamie Pearson

Classic 250

1st Geoff Hadwin; 2nd Andy Wilson; 2nd Dale Shaw

Classic 350

1st Brian Prescott; 2nd John Leese; 3rd Neil Ogden

Classic 500

1st Gordon Thorpe; 2nd Oliver Presswood; 3rd Michael Fox

Classic 1000

1st James O’Brien; 2nd Anthony Redmond; 3rd David Bradley

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Road Race
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400